Why I Equate Shoes with Men

13 Oct

I just realized something – I tend to date tall men. I mean, from the first guy I had a major make out session with (during the “Summer of Sin” aka summer of ’97) to the current guy. Most – not all – have been at least six feet tall. Friend boy is 6’8″ for gosh sakes! Maybe it is because I am on the relatively short side (5’4″) and have always worn high heels (ever since I was a teenager living in Miami and was sneaking out to go the clubs on South Beach at the age of 16, but I digress), but I have always attracted to the opposite of me – TALL MEN.

I thought about this as I read this article in the New York Times.  INSANE what some of these women are wearing.

Either way, this article got me thinking.  Since this blog is a journey for me, I figured I would throw out this idea – maybe I should just start dating shorter men if the tall ones break my heart.

The only downside – I’d have to throw out some of my favorite heels and I’m not ready to do that.

What do you think?

Talk soon.

5 Responses to “Why I Equate Shoes with Men”

  1. Perez Christina October 13, 2009 at 10:25 pm #

    interesting !

  2. D. Fleming October 14, 2009 at 5:53 pm #

    Summer of Sin! Best time ever!

  3. Mel October 14, 2009 at 5:57 pm #

    Yes, yes, the summer of sin was way fun. I still don’t breathe a word about the (major) details to most people.

  4. Jane Wonder October 20, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

    I’m pretty sure the shoes will still fit even if your partner is a bit shorter. Not sure why they’d need to be thrown out… 😉

    • Mel October 20, 2009 at 1:46 pm #

      True. And I could never throw away good shoes. Especially while I’m considering a new purchase as we speak. 🙂

Leave a comment