Song Saturday: The Reason

17 Oct

Keeping up with the weekly theme of Song Saturday, I wanted to share a song that means a lot to me.  In the beginning I said that I go out on a lot of first dates, some seconds, and at points, it evolves into something more.  Well this song represents the something more.

I was in love once.  Yes, this sarcastic – and sometimes broken – person was in love.  Deeply.  And he broke my heart.  Over and  over again. And to counter anything you’re thinking, I was wrong at times and broke him down over and over again. It wasn’t all his fault – it does take two to tango.

He’s a good guy – but he wasn’t the right one for me either.  And it took us seven-and-a-half years to figure it out.  We broke up and got back together countless times.  And about three years ago, we said enough was enough.  Again, he didn’t feel the way he should have for me after seven plus years.   I respected his decision, but was very angry at him for a long time.

Now, we’re friends on Facebook and I see he has a serious, live-in girlfriend.  A part of me broke down when I first figured it out.  Another piece of “died” again.  But I know it is all for the best.

This song represents one of the times we broke up. It was a dark period for him and I remember going to his house one night when he needed me.  We broke up that night/early morning.  When we left his house and were driving ( in separate cars)  to the highway, he called me and asked me to pull over. I did. He gave me this CD, apologized for hurting me, and then drove off.

It wasn’t the last time I saw him, but it may as well have been.  He wasn’t good for me and I know that.  But I miss him and will always love him. And I’m sure as I continue on, you’ll see more posts about him.

One Response to “Song Saturday: The Reason”

  1. jolene1079 October 17, 2009 at 1:01 pm #

    you’re right, that is a perfect song. I would consider that a perfect song for “the situation” as well. good post!!

Leave a Reply

