Poll of the Day: When (If) To De-Friend an Ex on Facebook?

24 Oct

So it is another Saturday night. My last lazy weekend before things pick up for November/December.  All good stuff.  Halloween, baby showers, holidays, girls nights. It is all good.  But as I sit here and watch my Canes play the Clemson Tigers, I simply logged on to Facebook (easy to do via my netbook or Blackberry) and decided to poke around.

I have several ex’s on Facebook. And for some reason I tortured myself to look at the ex who I dated for seven years.  And I saw he added a new picture of him and his “new” girlfriend. Even though I know they’ve been together for some time, it still hurts. And I dread the day that his status changes from “In a Relationship” to “Engaged.” I have a feeling its coming – and I’m usually right about these things.  Even though he and I aren’t meant to be, it still hurts me in the heart a little.

So I ask the question – can I de-friend him (keep in mind BOTH of his sisters friended me. Not the other way around?) And if I can, is there ever a good time to do so?  I know it would seem petty, but I need to look out for me, right?

7 Responses to “Poll of the Day: When (If) To De-Friend an Ex on Facebook?”

  1. jsutera654 October 25, 2009 at 10:23 am #

    I vote de-friend, you’re right, gotta look out for you first and foremost! Just my two cents…xoxo

    • Mel October 25, 2009 at 12:18 pm #

      My head says yes, I should de-friend. HOWEVER, its convincing the rest of me that its a good idea that is the problem. Besides with the one for seven+ years, I’d have to defriend him PLUS his two sisters. Not necessarily a bad thing, but it would be bitchy. And I’d hate to be that way, for no reason whatsoever. Tough decision.

  2. Snark B October 25, 2009 at 5:58 pm #

    If the ex + sisters each have 100 + friends, and are not likely to run into you on a mutual friend’s comments, they might not even notice you’ve defriended them for a while. Just a thought.

    Another option is to just filter them out of your news feed, so you never have to look at possible engagement updates. Then you just have to have the willpower not to look at his profile.

  3. Jessica October 25, 2009 at 8:43 pm #

    I know I’m a little late in the response, but I just finaly had time to check out the blog! I also have to mention that I tried to start one but failed. I’m hoping to try again!
    Ok, to weigh in, I vote for filtering him out on the feed, OR defriending him but keeping his sisters. It’s not like they would know that you defriended him! And why would you have to de-friend them? In case they post an update about him?

  4. AnnT October 25, 2009 at 9:15 pm #

    I would de-friend! You don’t need him or his sisters. Shi*t happens and you don’t need to keep that baggage around! I only say this because I luv u.

  5. Mel October 26, 2009 at 2:47 pm #

    Well I have hid them all from my front page screen – so that is the first step. I may block them from seeing status updates as well. Maybe the third and final step will be to delete him. He’s harmless, but he makes me overthink everything. 🙂 Thanks all for the advice. I appreciate it! XO

  6. Jane Wonder October 29, 2009 at 11:25 am #

    UN-FRIEND. Dude, take it from someone who knows… that just isn’t healthy. And I know you’re freaked out because then you won’t be able to peek in and see when you want to. But trust me, it’s better.

    Also, there is no reason why you’d have to un-friend his sisters too. Just leave them as is. But seriously, un-friend the ex. The alternative is unhealthy.

Leave a Reply

