The Bridget Jones Pledge

27 Oct

So I’m inspired by my friends all the time. One said yesterday’s post was my best Bridget Jones moment. And as I looked back, it was (thanks ML2!) As I re-read it, I guess I’m like BJ in many ways, including:

  1. She has many vices, I have many vices (though I still believe I’m more fun with the more vices I have.)
  2. She has great friends…I have great friends.
  3. She is obsessed with finding a good man.  Specifically, she’s looking for a “nice sensible boyfriend” and hopes to “stop forming romantic attachments to any of the following: alcoholics, workoholics, sexaholics, commitment-phobics, peeping toms, megalomaniacs, emotional fuckwits, or perverts.” (Kinda sounds familiar…)

As I look at her life vs. my own (yeah I get it – she’s a movie character, I’m not, but there are still several similarities), I realize I need to take the advice my friend G told me years ago: take care of yourself. She always made the point that if I take care of myself, the rest will fall into place. And you know what? She’s usually right. Before I focus on finding a new person in my life, I need to work on a few things right now.

I am going to take this pledge to take care of myself. As part of that, I pledge to do the following:

  1. Work out at least three times a week (hey – baby steps!)
  2. Only listen to positive music that I can dance to – yup, in the car!
  3. Sing as loud as possible as I bop around in my car as I listen to this music.
  4. STOP OBSESSING OVER MY HOTMAIL ACCOUNT. (That’s where my Match and eHarmony contacts go through – so I will only check it once a week, a day, maybe just twice a day…whatever, I’ll be better.)
  5. Focus on me and not my work.  This includes playing with Bella more.

I’ll see how long I can keep this pledge…I’ll check back with you in a week. Wish me luck!

4 Responses to “The Bridget Jones Pledge”

  1. lifebytheday October 27, 2009 at 10:25 am #

    Haha, luck babe! I’m right there with you…our pre-New-Years-Eve resolutions!! 😉

  2. Mel October 27, 2009 at 12:25 pm #

    I can handle 2,3, and 5 no problem. One and four are the real problems! We’ll get there!!! XO

  3. Jess October 27, 2009 at 12:37 pm #

    You can do it, sista! All of the goals you list are definitely doable (including the checking Hotmail less goal, too funny) – I’m rooting for ya 🙂

    • Mel October 27, 2009 at 12:39 pm #

      Thanks sista! I may need your motivation though…

Leave a Reply

