I Love You

28 Oct

I try to infuse a little – well a lot of humor – in my posts.  But I can’t today.  I don’t have the strength.  It started off raining (never a good sign), I hated my outfit (eh!), and then I hit 2.5+ hours of traffic getting to work (major bummer!)  All things one can overcome, right?

You would think I could get over it.

Then I saw it.  An email from my friend.  Her husband got his second opinion – they have an an appt for a third. But the prognosis isn’t good.  Stage 3. Brain tumor. Two-five years.   Enough said.

She thinks he can beat it. I hope she’s right.

She and I graduated grad school together.  I went to their wedding.  Saw their house when it was still in construction-mode.  All the major milestones.

They have a rough road ahead and they are in my prayers. Even though some of you may not know them, I hope you can find it in your hearts to think of them once in awhile and send them good thoughts.  And if you are lucky enough to have found that one special person in your life, call them one extra time at work today and tell them you love them. And if you haven’t found that person (yet- I have faith for all of us!), tell a friend or a family member.

(I love you. )

12 Responses to “I Love You”

  1. D. Fleming October 28, 2009 at 4:31 pm #

    I think I know who it is but that is just awful, gut-wrenching news! I definitely will say a prayer for them. Wow. Life is way too short and unexpected and we need to be grateful for every moment — as hard as that may be sometimes. I love you, Mel 🙂

    • Mel October 28, 2009 at 4:45 pm #

      And I love you and Serg!! XO

  2. jolene1079 October 28, 2009 at 8:07 pm #

    Oh my Gosh, that is so sad…

    • Mel October 28, 2009 at 8:36 pm #

      I know. Unfortunately, if I feel this bad, I can only imagine how they feel, what they are going through. So I love you.

  3. lifebytheday October 29, 2009 at 8:54 am #

    Oh sweetie, I’m so sorry. I’ll be praying for them.

    Love you.

    • Mel October 29, 2009 at 10:17 am #

      Love you too honey. 🙂

  4. Jane Wonder October 29, 2009 at 11:26 am #

    *smooches*

    • Mel October 29, 2009 at 11:54 am #

      Right back at ya!

  5. Single Girl October 29, 2009 at 11:38 am #

    Sad story, but great lesson. Sometimes we need things to remind us just how lucky we are. I’ll be thinking of them.

    • Mel October 29, 2009 at 11:54 am #

      Need to cherish everyone in our lives. Thank you for your thoughts – I know they appreciate it too!

  6. Snark B October 30, 2009 at 10:42 am #

    It does put things in perspective. I heard some similar news this week, and it makes all my whining feel petty.

    I wish your friend all the best in this difficult time.

    • Mel October 30, 2009 at 7:06 pm #

      Thank you for your kind words Snark.

Leave a Reply

