Why Dating is Like a Job

5 Nov

I know, I know – I never wanted to put these two items together, but I am.  Today was a weird day for many reasons. Let’s recap:

  1. I woke up feeling sicky (yea, sicky)
  2. I’ve slept more on a weekday today than I have in a long time
  3. I still worked (from my bed in my pjs – and yes I told my boss this)
  4. I still got annoyed with one particular co-worker (I literally screamed her at through my computer. What? see point 3 – no one heard me.)
  5. I had to keep my calm (when email/talking with other co-workers) and get through it

How does this relate to dating? Well for many reasons.  And let me preface this commentary –  I cannot take full responsibility for the idea. This goes to my friend, To Be Determined. So I expect her to comment. 🙂

The final two points in my list can be intertwined with dating and work. Just replace co-worker with boyfriend/girlfriend/partner/husband/wife…  Even though I worked from home, I got beyond frustrated with a co-worker. One whom I’ve had problems with quite frequently. I can work with almost anyone – this person, has me stumped.  I won’t go into reasons why, but but today’s situation made me think how you can equate the two parts of life. Let’s start the list as to why:

  1. Both can get you on a real big high (great date, completed project – whatever, you can be on cloud 9.)
  2. Both can have a major affect on your mood (positive and negative)
  3. Both can drive you crazy
  4. Both can leave you feeling low and unimportant
  5. I need to stay calm in both situations.  Work you need to be professional; personally I cannot make low blows and shots.
  6. Both take a lot of work. Period.

So I hope this post finds you well on a Thursday night (yes dark already before 5 PM ET.) And remember, it takes effort and energy to make both parts of your life work.  They may not always be in harmony, but they don’t have to be out of tune either. I need to work on this myself….

4 Responses to “Why Dating is Like a Job”

  1. jolene1079 November 6, 2009 at 4:13 pm #

    *arm pump* – you took my suggestion 😉 I agree with you (obviously!) – dating (and relationships, generally) take work, just like a job, have their ups and downs, just like a job, and don’t improve overnight either, necessarily. Also really like what you had to say here: And remember, it takes effort and energy to make both parts of your life work. They may not always be in harmony, but they don’t have to be out of tune either. <–so true.

    • Mel November 6, 2009 at 6:17 pm #

      I thought that last part was quite pithy myself. 😉

  2. Snark B November 6, 2009 at 5:58 pm #

    I agree that dating/relationships are hard work, but I’ve never put as much energy into my job as I have into my relationships. It’s also never caused as many ups and downs!

    I hope you’re over your sickyness. (It’s dark here by 5:00 too. Makes for a depressing drive home.)

    Get back to work!

    • Mel November 6, 2009 at 6:16 pm #

      True – I’ve learned to tone down the energy in my work and focus on personal.

      My sickyness is *almost* gone, but feeling tons better – thank you. And yea, yea, work, schmork! 🙂

Leave a Reply

