I’ve Been Remiss

10 Nov

…with a lot of things. In the past couple of weeks, I haven’t been posting as often.  I’m sorry, but I’ve been dealing with the rest of life.  Work, family, going back out again, even chatting with a boy (more details to come with a later post.) No excuses.  I know this is a good outlet for me, so let me discuss something I have been thinking of lately:

How do you deal with the holidays when you’re single?

Something I’ve grappled with more years than I care to think of, but here are a few ways  to not only get through – but have fun – during the holidays:

  1. Go shopping – for every three gifts I buy for others, I buy one for myself.
  2. Try a new recipe – or two or three.  I am taking up crockpotting due to my friend’s suggestion. After all, in Melworld, calories do not count between Thanksgiving and New Year’s Eve.
  3. Decorate your home – I love getting new stuff for my home. New decorations can be gifts you buy yourself.
  4. Spend time with your favorite feline – or canine. I prefer feline. 🙂
  5. Listen to holiday music – it is upbeat. And reminds me of my childhood.
  6. Watch your favorite show/movie marathon while the snow is falling.  Or if you are in MIA where I grew up, snuggle down in bed and pretend the snow is falling.
  7. Enjoy your time with friends and family.  I’ve said it before, life is precious.  The holidays shouldn’t be the only time you tell people you love them or want to spend time with them.  But it is a good place to start.
6 Responses to “I’ve Been Remiss”

  1. Single Girl November 10, 2009 at 11:43 pm #

    I find being single during the holidays incredibly tough. This is a great list though. I especially like #1 and #2. I figure I’m saving money not having to buy for a significant other, so might as well use what I would have spent – on myself! AND – Once you try crockpotting, you’ll be hooked – easy peasy 🙂 If you like pork tenderloin, try this one: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Amazing-Pork-Tenderloin-in-the-Slow-Cooker/Detail.aspx

    • Mel November 11, 2009 at 11:06 am #

      OOOOOOOOOO looks yummy!!! I need to try this recipe ASAP!! Thanks!

  2. D November 11, 2009 at 1:55 pm #

    And don’t forget to go to tons of parties!! 🙂

    • Mel November 12, 2009 at 11:08 pm #

      So many. I think I already have three or four already lined up. And invites for New Year’s Eve. When can I rest???

  3. lifebytheday November 11, 2009 at 4:59 pm #

    Love the new layout Mel!!

    • Mel November 12, 2009 at 11:07 pm #

      Awww shucks. Glad you like it. I wish my skin could be furbabies though. 😉

Leave a Reply

