Taking a Break from Dating

15 Nov

I think that’s what I need to do.  I’m kinda over the whole thing.  What’s the point? For me to find someone to break my heart…again.

Maybe its me, but I think most men are boring (me.)  Sorry to say it. And I don’t want to, but its true.  The latest guy – we IM’d all day last Wed ( fun conversation – no lulls.) And today, he’s online again and its such a dull conversation. Its like pulling teeth. If its this up and down on IM – can you even imagine what a date would be like? Seriously.  Is it even worth it?

I’d rather spend the weekend like I did – good times with good friends. Yesterday, I caught up with an old college friend (great time – was like it had only been 10 days since we saw each other, not 10 years) and then went to a baby shower for another old friend this afternoon.  She and I worked together and it had been well over a year since we saw one another. Again, was like no time was lost.  We spoke like we saw each other daily. Don’t misunderstand me – we have kept in touch over IM and Facebook all this time, but it was nice to talk with her face-to-face (if she ever reads this – good luck A! I am so happy for you and T!)

Why can’t speaking with a guy be as easy as speaking with my friends?  It shouldn’t be that hard. I wish I knew why sometimes it was.

2 Responses to “Taking a Break from Dating”

  1. BigLittleWolf November 15, 2009 at 9:57 pm #

    I just read your comment you left at my daily plate of crazy, and reading this, I understand so well what you’re saying. But our friendships with women didn’t happen overnight, or via IM even if we maintain them through phone, internet, or other means.

    They were built on common experience, time, laughter, tears, shared trust.

    Strangely, long distance relationships that require communicating through words (not IMs, actual sentences) also force two people to “court” – and to establish a friendship. It provides more of a foundation than the dating world seems to allow for these days.

    So as much as a long distance relationship sucks (for obvious reasons), it’s more likely to have the elements of true friendship that give it substance. Ultimately, logistics are an issue. Ideally, we’d find interesting men who were willing to take the time to know us – and we would take the time to know them – and let sparks fly from there.

    Life ain’t simple. And dating? I don’t think it ever was.

    • Mel November 16, 2009 at 10:47 pm #

      I couldn’t agree more – relationships are built on common experiences, laughter, tears, etc. I just wish relationships/dating scenarios were a bit easier. But I guess if either were easy, life wouldn’t be interesting. 🙂 Thank you for this…your comments mean more than you know.

Leave a Reply

