Following My Horoscope

22 Nov

What a week it has been. Quite insane really. Which is why I am sticking with my decision to take a break from dating for a bit. Too much going on.  It wouldn’t be fair to date someone during this time. Too much on my mind including:

  1. My friend’s surgery on his brain tumor is scheduled for Tuesday.  I heard from his wife last week, and she is so worried, stressed, tired.  A lot comes down on to her and folks sometimes forget how tough this is on her as well.  I can only be there for her.
  2. Had breakfast with my other friend last week – her mom is dealing with a lot.  And its tough on the whole family. Its hard hearing this – I’ve been friends with this family for well over a decade and used to spend all of my Sundays with them watching football. I feel awful.
  3. My friend was forced to give birth – and subsequently watch her son pass away. I can’t talk about it – it upsets me even thinking about it.
  4. And last but certainly, not least, our Thanksgiving plans changed.  I hate the reason why and feel awful because again, someone I know is hurting.  And I can’t change it or help her. We are now moving Turkey Day to my other cousin’s house. Its going to be a lot of traveling, but hey – I get to spend more time with my dad. And with everything else going on, spending as much time with him is a good thing and makes me smile. I just hope everything goes well in Cali (those who know what I’m talking about, will understand this last statement.)

So what did my horoscope say today? Lay low, don’t do too much, except for routine activities.  Which is fine by me. I’ve spent the day finishing/folding laundry, paying bills, chatting with Pops, and now baking low fat carrot cake muffins while a couple of football games are playing in the background. Yum.

3 Responses to “Following My Horoscope”

  1. lifebytheday November 22, 2009 at 7:33 pm #

    Yikes Mel. Nothing I can say, but sending you a virtual hug! XOXO

    • Mel November 22, 2009 at 8:06 pm #

      Thanks honey. I just feel bad – keeping everyone in my thoughts and prayers. XOXOXO back at ya!

  2. Sara November 26, 2009 at 12:58 pm #

    I love you, Melly. I hope you have a nice Thanksgiving! Things are going ok here. Better every day. Which kind of upsets me more, but guess it’s a good thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

