Respond or Not to Respond?

3 Dec

That is the question.

OK, so I unhid myself on Match.  I was off for several weeks and decided – hey, why not go back on and see what may happen in the new year? I am however off eHarmony still and do not plan on returning. So here is the question.  I received the following (READ: ARROGANT) email last night:

Hello,

I saw/looked over your profile and found myself intrigued, a bit.

What are your thoughts on doing coffee?

Happy December

Let’s just say, I was NONE too impressed and would like to send the following response back:

“If you want to try and get to know someone, you may not want to tell her that her profile only interested you “a bit.” Even if it was only a bit, you emailed her and showed some interest. That statement comes off as being arrogant and disinterested. Needless to say, I am sorry, but do not wish to meet for coffee. Good luck in your search.”

I have one vote for sending; one vote for not.  What are your thoughts?

8 Responses to “Respond or Not to Respond?”

  1. Meg December 3, 2009 at 4:11 pm #

    Don’t send that response. Sarcasm and tone can’t be heard through an email. He might have been teasing and not insulting you. Give him a chance – what can it hurt?

    • jolene1079 December 3, 2009 at 4:21 pm #

      agreed 😉 She never listens to me!

      • Mel December 3, 2009 at 4:28 pm #

        I listen to both of you. All. The. Time. I haven’t replied. But I don’t think – based on his profile – that we would click. So while I will *most likely* not respond with some snarky response, I will most likely just ignore and delete. But we’ll see what others think.

  2. jsutera654 December 3, 2009 at 5:32 pm #

    Agree – I think you’re reading into the “a bit” part – give him a chance! What’s ONE email reply gonna do? It won’t kill you, I promise 😉 xoxo

  3. Sara December 3, 2009 at 9:02 pm #

    I was going to vote no on him, but I know that things don’t always come across as you meant them in text, so I was thinking maybe you should give him a chance. But, if you looked at his profile and it didn’t interest you, then I’d still say no. 🙂

  4. Snark B December 4, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

    Tell him you’re intrigued, a bit, by coffee, but not with him. A bit.

    I didn’t even notice the “a bit” part, but we all have our own sensitive spots. But the main thing is whether you liked his profile. If you didn’t, you didn’t. If his profile were perfect in every other way, would you have seen past the “a bit” bit?

  5. D December 4, 2009 at 1:51 pm #

    My two sense would be if his profile didn’t interest you in any way then I’d say NEXT! But if there was something there then respond, maybe his choice of words will improve.

  6. lifebytheday December 4, 2009 at 5:28 pm #

    I was going to vote send, but our wise ladies have a point. Tone and email do not mix well…

Leave a Reply

