Welcoming 2010

31 Dec

I was inspired to write this post by reading one of my favorite bloggers this morning.  Her blog, Confessions of One Date Wonder, has given me hope that one day, I too can find love.  Again. In case you haven’t read her yet, she is fabulous.

Anyway, like her, I have spent the last few weeks thinking about what 2009 has taught me and where I was 12 months ago vs. where I am today.

So here I go. 12 months ago I was:

  • Jobless;
  • Confused;
  • Single;
  • Looking forward to spending NYE with my girls (you know who you are!);
  • Wondering if things would change.

And they did.  I met someone 12 months ago today. Yup, on New Year’s Eve. Someone who for a few brief weeks gave me hope that I could one day be loved. He did all the things I could have asked for and hoped for in a man.  He was someone who would email me just to tell me he missed me or couldn’t wait to see me later.  Someone who made plans – real plans to do new and different things. Someone who talked about a future with me. WITH ME! This confirmed bachelorette could actually see a future with this man – going to parties with him, going out on double dates with him, spending alone time with him.  It was more than I could have asked for.

That someone also broke my heart in a million pieces.  The person who gave me hope, shattered it almost as quickly as he gave it to me.  Although we only dated for a brief time, he has affected me more than almost anyone else (minus the one who I dated for 7+ years!)

I never said it aloud, nor did I ever think I would write it out for all to see.  But he hurt me more than anyone else has.  And I can’t forget him – nor do I think I can ever forgive him.

But 12 months later, I have changed.  For the better.  Today I am:

  • Holding a job – for almost 10 months now (I accepted the offer the day the jerk dumped me!)
  • Confused, still, but for new reasons.
  • Single, still – but have a couple of new stories, new experiences.
  • Looking forward to spending NYE with my girls (you know who you are!) AGAIN! – some things never really change.
  • Realizing that if I need something to change, I can’t just hope for it, I have to do it. I am the only one who can change my destiny.

So, to all of you, I wish you a happy and very healthy 2010.  I wish you all the best and look forward to reading what the new year has in store for you.

XOXO

7 Responses to “Welcoming 2010”

  1. Jane Wonder December 31, 2009 at 11:46 am #

    My dear, the biggest lesson of all is that finding love doesn’t make us complete. Only we can do that. And even though 2009 brought heartbreak for you, it seems it also taught some great lessons.

    Anyhow, thanks for the shout out and Happy 2010! 🙂

    • Mel December 31, 2009 at 11:51 am #

      You are so right. Love does not make us complete. I’ve learned that over the years. Tough lesson to learn, but an important one nonetheless.

      Wishing you – and LC – a wonderful new year!

  2. D December 31, 2009 at 1:33 pm #

    Hope you have fun tonight!! Happy New year, I told the girls to send me a text and picture of you all having fun! I’ll miss ya… What a difference a year makes huh? You are a great person Mel, and a wonderful friend, let fate take it’s course and everything will fall into place at the right time. Cliche I know, but hey it’s new years Eve day!

    • Mel December 31, 2009 at 2:36 pm #

      Awww D! You are so right – what a difference a year makes. I am so excited for you and your little bundle. 2010 is going to be awesome for you and I’m so excited to meet the little man next year!!!!

  3. jsutera654 December 31, 2009 at 3:24 pm #

    Friend!!!! Love you! Can’t wait to ring in yet another new year with you – I’m telling you, 2010 is going to be a BIG year, for all of us. I gotta feeling 🙂

  4. jolene1079 December 31, 2009 at 4:21 pm #

    Ditto to what Dan said 😉 You ARE a wonderful friend, person, daughter, (former) coworker, and, to someone VERY special one day, a girlfriend…and for now, you can be my date whereever we go – pretty please?! 🙂 (PS I am linking to your blog tomorrow – you just wait!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Goodbye 2009…hello 2010..the year of me. « To Be Determined - December 31, 2009

    […] is Why I Date: Because she is one of my favorite “real life” friends (AND BSF!), her post makes me SO proud of her. She came a long way this year vs. last and I have a feeling 2010 will […]

Leave a Reply

