The Secret

15 Feb

Have you heard of this? It’s a book, DVD, CD – and a new way of thinking. My best friend introduced me to it.  The reason why I’ve been lax in my writing is because I haven’t  had the best attitude lately.  She recognized this in me – and promptly told me I needed to change the way I think.

The Secret is great – it’s all about the law of attraction. And the main goal is to think good thoughts and feel good.  If I feel good – good things will be attracted to me.  But I have to believe in it.

It’s a tough way to think and it’s a complete change in the way of living. But as I think back on my life – it makes perfect sense.  When I was feeling great about life and had an optimistic outlook – good things just happened. And when I felt like shit – the opposite. I just never realized I had caused it – I had set all of those actions in motion.

I know it may sounds like new wave-mumbo jumbo, but I’m starting to believe it in more. I just need to change my attitude all the time. We’ll see. I’ll keep you posted. I’m still learning….

5 Responses to “The Secret”

  1. itneverrainsinseattle February 15, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    Perhaps another name for it would be, “The Law of Confirmation Bias.”

    I don’t believe that wanting something makes it happen; thinking good thoughts doesn’t necessarily make those thoughts come true. Otherwise, my kids would be buried in Legos and Lincoln Logs.

    Good things happen to grumpy people… they just don’t appreciate it. And bad things happen to happy people… they just aren’t as bothered by it.

    So, it seems to me (truly) that a good attitude is not so much it’s own cause, as it’s own reward.

    • Mel February 15, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

      I agree with you – good things do happen to grump people and bad things happen to happy people. But it’s also about changing your overall attitude. Would you rather believe in the fact that something good can happen or always think negatively? And trust me, this is hard to say as I’m a “glass half empty” gal.

      It is hard to “believe” all the time – but this is also helping me change my overall attitude. By believing good things can happen and remembering the good things in my life (when something bad happens), I feel happier.

      PS – thanks for the comment. I’ve read your stuff and hear a lot of good things about you from our mutual blogger friend. 🙂

  2. Jess February 16, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    I love this, Mel! There is definitely something to be said for maintaining a positive outlook and FEELING good, even if that’s not necessarily possible 100% of the time, if you can manage it most of the time? You’re doing pretty darn good. I’m thinking I need to read this book next, book swap time?? PS. Love the new blog layout 🙂

  3. jolene1079 February 16, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    Agree, I love this – and I love your new blog look – super fabulous!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s All About the ‘Tude « This is Why I Date - April 29, 2011

    […] with my friend earlier this week and I started telling her that I am re-listening to learnings of The Secret. And what I’ve realized is, in order to be happy, you should actually try and look at the […]

Leave a Reply

