Book Quote#1

17 Feb

I’m reading a fun, beach read book, entitled “Love the one you’re with.” I’m one-third of the way in, but it’s my kind of book. Light-hearted, girly, easy-to-read.

It’s about a woman – whose married – living in NYC and the book starts the moment she runs into her ex-boyfriend.  He tries to be friends with her. And the book focuses on her journey on how – or if – she can be friends with him.

The book also has many great quotes – too many that I can relate to.  The first is:

Why does one keep in touch with certain exes, and not others? Why is it okay to segue into a friendship with some?

I think this is a GREAT question. I pride myself on the fact that I’ve been able to stay friends – or at least friendly with – several of my exes. Not all. And I certainly don’t talk with them on a regular basis, but I can be friends with them.  Many of my friends have stayed on friendly terms with their exes as well, so I know it can be done.

But I still ponder – why is it ok for me to keep in touch with some exes? And why is it easy for some and not for others?

Any ideas?

6 Responses to “Book Quote#1”

  1. Meg February 17, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    I heart Emily Giffin!

    • Mel February 17, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

      How did I know you would know which this author!??

  2. lifebytheday February 18, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    SO true…I think it’s only possible to be friends with certain exes. I think it has a lot to do with how it ended, who ended it, and the leftover feelings on the part of both parties. Also, FYI, it’s virtually impossible to be friends with exes once you’re in a new relationship (esp. with a jealous Irishman ;-P), unless they’re a loooong ago ex.

    • Mel February 18, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

      LOL!! Does S know you refer to him as a jealous Irishman?? LOL

  3. D February 18, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    I agree, it’s all in the ending, and the feelings you ended with. I was BFF with my ex for almost 8 years, till he moved across country and in all honesty I found myself back in a steady committed relationship. Some exes won’t even look my way… sort of hurts, but you know what, their loss right? I think it’s a guilt thing too, on both parties. If you feel guilty for breaking it off for whatever strange reason then you tend to run and hide from it. Plus some people don’t like confrontation and just assume you’re going to go off the deep end. 🙂 If they only knew how much you didn’t care!!

    • Mel February 18, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

      AMEN!! I mean, if it has been a long time, I have lost all of the caring. I mean, I still care for them as a person, but I don’t care about seeing them or their reactions. Good call!

Leave a Reply

