I Don’t See What’s The Problem

27 Feb

Last night I spent another hour+ talking with my best friend.  I don’t know how we do it – since every day we seem to talk for well over an hour, with ease.  We always just seem to find something(s) to discuss and we go over every facet of that topic.  Since we live so far apart, we usually have to go into great detail, so when there is more than one subject, it is easy to see how we can talk and talk and talk every day.

Last night’s conversation included three topics – a party she went to after work, work issues, and then of course Thursday night date boy.  And see, this is where I love her.  She listened to everything I had to say – came up with counterpoints to my points. And then she finally summed it with the following:  “I don’t see any flaws  – what’s the problem? He acted the way most people would have. He was probably just nervous and then was excited because you had  a good date.”

My BFF is the one who introduced me to The Secret and she simply reminded me last night to be happy, look at the bright side of things, and enjoy the ride. If I look for bad things, of course I’ll find them. But maybe this time, I should look for the good.  Thursday Night Date boy may remind me of, and have tendencies of, past boyfriends, but that doesn’t mean it will turn out the same. It doesn’t mean he’ll break my heart. It doesn’t mean he’ll be an utter dirtbag.  Maybe I should look at my past experiences as just that, the PAST .  Be cautious, but also think “maybe this one is different, maybe this one won’t break my heart, maybe this one could make me happy.”

I don’t know if he is different. I hope he is.  All I know is: he sent some really sweet text messages last night, is excited to see me tonight, and I’m just looking forward to experiencing his cooking skills. Oh yeah, and I’m nervous as hell, which I think is a good sign.

And you know, I’ll keep you posted on how it goes.

XO

4 Responses to “I Don’t See What’s The Problem”

  1. itneverrainsinseattle February 27, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    Woo-hoo!

    Here’s to exciting second dates!

  2. jolene1079 February 28, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    ummmm details please!!

  3. Dee March 1, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    awww, love you too!!! Glad to help and also dying to hear how dinner went!!!

  4. jsutera654 March 1, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    annnd how come I never got the deets on this follow-up date on Saturday night?? Fill a sista in 😉

Leave a Reply

