My Cat Will Never Let Me Down

11 Mar

…As long as I keep feeding her.  I know this is a pathetic, desperate post, but it’s true.  I have to put all men through what I call the “Bella Test.” She always takes some time to get used to someone, but if you are a good person, she will warm up to you within the first night of meeting you.  She totally looks out for me.  Here’s how’s she handled the men in my life:

  • BFL – couldn’t even be in the same room with him.
  • SB – warmed up to him.  She even slept next to him the one night he stayed over.
  • TNDB – yup, you guessed it, she stayed in the other room when we watched movies.

She has a knack for picking out the assholes – I think I should listen to her cat instincts more often.  Especially she since loves my friends and warmed up to them instantly.

And really, how can you NOT love this face?

Here’s my disclaimer, rant and rave, PSA, whatever the hell you want to call it: I adore shelter animals.  Support the ASPCA and any of your local animal shelters. Bella was a little more than four years old when I adopted her and I adore her and she has literally made my house a home (except when she spits up on the floor and poops outside her box – then it’s my messy, smelly home.)  Consider adoption first.

3 Responses to “My Cat Will Never Let Me Down”

  1. jolene1079 March 11, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    I HEART BELLA!! She’s such a cutie pie and so makes a house a home, doesn’t she? And, I too heart shelter animals, clearly 😉

    • Mel March 11, 2010 at 11:36 am #

      And such a ham. Had some maintenance done on my A/C unit this morning – and let me say it is ALWAYS nice opening the front door to a cute guy at 8 AM. And Bella hammed it up around him – sat at his feet and rolled around on her belly to get his attention. Hmmmm – maybe she’s on to something.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. This Is NOT A Pity Party « This is Why I Date - July 12, 2010

    […] ASPCA monthly for years now (damn you Sarah McLachlan and your commercials) and I adopted my own furbaby two years ago from the wonderful Cape Ann Animal Aid shelter.  But she made it her mission to […]

Leave a Reply

