Why Do Men Do What They Do?

17 Mar

So I was going to write a really introspective post today – one that was through provoking and gave a deep dive into my mind lately.  And then I decided to chuck that – it would have been boring. So I decided to share a couple of recent experiences I’ve had.  These have made me question:

Why do men do what they do?

I’ve said that I’m looking for a gentleman. Someone, who as my friend aptly stated, makes me feel like a lady. The two stories exemplify men who I don’t think will EVER make ANY woman feel like a lady.

  • Example #1: Last week, I was going somewhere for dinner and some guy said to me “Yo girly, nice smile.” Let’s dissect this for a second. No man in his right mind trying to get the attention of a 30-something woman should ever, and I MEAN EVER, refer to her as “girly.” Nor should he ever start off a sentence with “yo”…unless you want a mean comment back.
  • Example #2: As I was driving home last night, sitting in BUMPER TO BUMPER traffic (yea, I have a hellish commute to work, but I digress…) another man was in a bigass van next to me.  He kept looking over at me and made a motion for me to roll down my window.  What? WHAT?  Did you expect me to actually roll it down?  And if I did, what would you say to me? Something like “yo girly, nice smile. You sure can drive that car real well!”

I mean, honestly.  Gentlemen out there, please teach your brothers NOT to try and get the attention of a lady like these men did.  These “gentlemen” are giving you guys a real bad rap.

Peace!

6 Responses to “Why Do Men Do What They Do?”

  1. Del-V March 18, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    When I try to pick up girls in traffic from the comfort of my van I normally ask them if they have any grey poupon. Like, “Yo girly, you got a great smile. You got any grey poupon?”

    Works every time!

  2. Snark B March 18, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    How do you know the guy in traffic wanted to hit on you? Maybe he wanted to tell you that your tires are low, or a headlight is out, or that there’s an axe-wielding maniac in your backseat?

    Or maybe he did want to hit on you, but had a really clever original line.

    I can’t explain or teach other men how to behave. I have enough problems figuring out my own behavior! 🙂

    • Mel March 18, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

      Oh Snark! Why can’t you teach them????

  3. Jess March 18, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    Men are silly sometimes – they *really* don’t get women, the vast majority anyway 😉 How’s this for a “yo girly” moment? Jo and I were running together tonight and this group of guys went speeding by in their car and hollered (yes “hollered”) out the window “woooo! nice ASS!” Real nice.

    • Mel March 18, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

      OK I have two comments for you.
      1 – HYSTERICAL. Though I do have to agree, you both have nice asses (yes, I said it, but it’s my blog. And I can!)
      2 – YOU WORKED OUT AGAIN TONIGHT? I don’t know if you’re my hero or if you’re completely nuts. Or I can just be really jealous that you worked out and I worked late and came home to eat a salad. Had every intention of working out, but didn’t – whoops.
      3 – Did I say I think you have a nice ass?

      • jsutera654 March 21, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

        LOL I didn’t read this until just now. You kill me, and totally made me blush with the ass-age comments. LOL! xoxo

Leave a Reply

