Dichotomy of Relationships

1 Apr

I had an interesting weekend a few days ago. I knew it was going to be fun, but never thought it would be enlightening.

I’ve realized that I have a several wonderful friends who fill many areas of my life. And I am grateful for each and every one of them. Each one has been a part of my journey and has helped me in various ways.  So it was interesting for me to see them all at very different points of their lives.

Let’s intro the players:

  • The K’s.  Good friends of mine – I originally met him through work.  We instantly clicked (call us smartasses) and to this day he still comments on my lack of (good) judgment with men.  They got married a couple of years ago (I knew when he was going to propose) and I am happy to say I was one of his friends who knew she was pregnant.  She’s almost due and is ABSOLUTELY GLOWING.   These soon-to-be parents show one point of life.
  • A – one of my oldest and dearest friends.  She, like me, always put career first. Is fantastic, stylish, smart, funny, and a joy to be around (also like moi. 🙂 ) But she too is single and wondering where are all of the good men.
  • The Best Form of Birth Control Family (or BFBC).  Hey – she told me I could refer to them as this.  They are like my brother and sister.  And their two little girls – the closest I have to nieces. And I freaking adore them.

But unlike the peaceful house of the K’s and the crazy, shopping/eating/drinking weekend with A, the BFBC is an example of a family with ever changing emotions and moods. And trust me, it is NEVER a dull moment in their house.  Did I mention both girls are under the age of three and freaking adorable with personalities to boot?  Picture this scene:  I walk in the house, the dog is barking; the oldest is napping; daddy is feeding the baby; and my girlfriend is putting away laundry while yelling at the dog to stop barking.  When the oldest wakes up – yup, its time to “go to potty!” Oh how I love potty training.

So never a dull moment. But when I’m with them, I’m with family and I wouldn’t change it for the world.  (To be honest, I kinda want that for myself some day.)

It was interesting to view life in various stages.  From singledom, to new family, to an “established” family (for lack of a better word.) What better way to view the world than to view it through the eyes and lives of my close friends? It was enlightening to see how they all act during these times in their lives.

I guess I see myself in all of these stages and am very blessed that I can be a part of their lives as well.

Up next:  I saw a psychic last night and let me tell  you…I loved it.  It was the most enlightening experience for me.  I’ll post my findings in the next day or two. Stay tuned b/c it was wild!

One Response to “Dichotomy of Relationships”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So Yea, I Ummmm Totally Dated a Guy from Your Town… « This is Why I Date - November 9, 2010

    […] first time was when I was hanging out with the BFBC a couple of weeks ago.  My friend HAD to remind me that I kissed someone when we lived together. […]

Leave a Reply

