What Did We Do Before Internet Dating?

5 Apr

Update: the number from Saturday WAS the guy I met on Friday night.  He called me Saturday to ask about Sunday (to which I promptly pushed off the first date to this week) and then he called Sunday just to chat. And we texted off and on throughout the Sox home opener versus the Yankees. Overall, he seems to be a fun, energetic guy who wants to get to know me. And a major Sox fan – so bonus points to him.

As I am not only one of the only single gals among my groups of friends, I am one of the only single people in my office (small office.) I am one of the perpetual bachelorettes here.  And today, I was recounting my weekend with a couple of my lunch buddies and they started asking me questions. Normal questions. What is his last name? How old is he? etc etc.

And I panicked!

I didn’t know the answer to MOST of their questions.  I tried telling them – mostly to reassure myself – that it’s only a first date. That is what first dates are FOR – to learn about one another. And if we like one another – great. Move on to the second date. But if it doesn’t work out – so be it.  We all have bad dates. And he bought me dinner – one less night I have to try and cook (score!)

But it made me think.  When internet dating, we know people’s profiles. How old they are, where they work, what schools they went (and degrees), if they have brothers and sisters, which area of the city they live in, and most likely their last name because all you have done is email for days to “get to know one another.”

It’s exhausting! But you also learn a lot about a first person before the first date – with the exception of what they ACTUALLY look like outside of their online profiles.

I like the idea of meeting someone organically and getting to know them “regularly.” But it has been awhile since I’ve done that. So I need to pose the question: what did we do before internet dating?  How did we function?

6 Responses to “What Did We Do Before Internet Dating?”

  1. jolene1079 April 5, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

    Seriously – no idea how it was done before…shiznat, I met my ex-husband online too…clearly, it’s the only thing I sorta kinda know how to do, huh?! 😉 Insert half-joke, half-sarcastic snicker here 🙂 Good post my friend!

    • Mel April 5, 2010 at 5:14 pm #

      Thanks darling!! It just hit me – maybe because all I seem to do these days is do the online dating thing.

      • jolene1079 April 5, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

        um what do you think I do my friend 😉 hehe

  2. Ginny April 5, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    I am also the perpetual bachelorette. That’s why we get to do it up in Vegas!

    The last guy I dated grew up in Mass but was a Yanks fan. Ugh!!

    • Mel April 5, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

      Damn straight – I’m already counting down the days until we go. When are you flying out? We’re heading out Wed night.

      Yuck the Fankees (great saying I stole from a friend of mine.)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Best $80 I’ve Ever Spent « This is Why I Date - April 7, 2010

    […] About Mel « What Did We Do Before Internet Dating? […]

Leave a Reply

