Best $80 I’ve Ever Spent

7 Apr

I saw a psychic last week.  I have no problem saying this, I am fine with it, but I’m afraid of what other people may think (but no, I don’t think it’s mumbo jumbo.) I’ve been wanting to see one for quite some time. A friend recommended this gentleman and I read up on him on the message boards (no website) and made the appointment. It took forever to schedule, but once he had a timeslot open, I took it!

It was awesome. And it was awesome, because he didn’t just predict my future, but explained my past and present. Here’s just a sampling:

  • He knew things about me and my dad (things I don’t really talk about – only with BFF)
  • He knew things about my mom
  • He knew things about BFF
  • He knew things about SS
  • And he was dead on about several aspects of my career

And when he was talking, it wasn’t like he said things that could be interpreted one way or another. No, they were (pardon the expression) dead on right.  He knew things about me I didn’t want to admit.  So I knew he was the real deal.   After he spent some time “establishing” himself, he said I could ask two questions.  Two specific questions.

So I asked the following:

  • Where will I be in the next six-12 months regarding my job?
  • Will I ever find the love of my life?

His answers were reassuring and made me feel at ease. Not because he said I was going to be promoted on such and such a date or I would meet the love of my life in exactly three months, two weeks, and five days. No, he made me feel reassured because he was so absolute in his answers. So I became calm and the last week has been great.

Let me catch you up on the latest boy. We went out last night.  To a small sports bar to watch the Red Sox/Yankees game. It was a lot of fun. Good conversation, good food, and we laughed a lot.  And no drama (to the disappointment of some of my co-workers. 🙂 ) When there was a lapse in the conversation, it wasn’t awkward or weird. It was just well…comfortable.

Do I think it will go anywhere? Probably – at least to a second date.  Will it go beyond that? Not sure.

I’ve realized that I used to rush into things and hope that I could predict where things would be with me (us) in the next six months.  I did this. All the time. With most guys I dated.  And I realized it set me up for a letdown, because he could never measure up to the “idea” I made of him.  So I’m going to sit back, relax, and enjoy getting to know him. Because after all, all of that stuff about love at first site is just a bunch of hooey!

5 Responses to “Best $80 I’ve Ever Spent”

  1. lifebytheday April 7, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    You go girl!! I’m glad that your date went well, but even more glad that you sound so happy and at peace. And I totally agree – LAFS is a total crock! ;-P

  2. jolene1079 April 7, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    Woohoo!! LAFS – agreed – hooey, crock, whatever you wanna call it. Go you, my friend!

  3. Mel April 8, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    Thanks ladies!!

  4. jsutera654 April 8, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    Hey, whatever, hooey or not, this guy, and the way you’re approaching him is great. Wahoo! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Working on My Creative Side (Or the Second Best $80 I Ever Spent…) « This is Why I Date - July 7, 2011

    […] OK, I admit it.  I try to find new and different ways to channel my energy.  One way is through yoga. One way is through meditation.  One is through the volunteer work I do. Another is this blog (which I was told I need to get back into writing on more often.) One way I channel my energy is with my psychic.  YES, MY PSYCHIC or if you remember, the best $80 I ever spent. […]

Leave a Reply

