I Have a Feeling You Could Be Good for Me

21 Apr

Pardon my rambling in this post.  Not sure where I’m trying to go with it….

Monday night was enlightening. S and I made last minute plans to hang out and watch the Bruins game (I know I know, but the Celtics and the Bruins are both in the playoff running, so I have no problem watching some game with him. Its fun – he gets so into it.)

Nothing big.  I came over, we watched the game, had a couple of drinks, played some Wii bowling, and talked a lot (mostly about sports and mundane things like how are days were.) And then it hit me. I realized why I’m playing it cautious with him – I don’t know much about him. Sure, we’ve only been dating 2+ weeks, but I don’t know that much about him.

So I asked him to tell me things about himself.  Who his best friend is, how close he is with his brother, mom, dad?  That opened up conversations about my dad, where I grew up and even vacations we’d like to take (yes, together. We’ll see if that ever comes to fruition…stay tuned.) Just “things” I wanted to know about him and feel are part of anyone’s makeup.  It was comforting – and easy. It made me feel closer to him. And I felt better.

This conversation may have made him feel more at ease with me as well.

Long story short, S has a very flexible schedule and is a nightowl (total opposite of me, where I have a set schedule and am a complete morning person), so he was a bit hyper when I started to get ready to leave.  It was kinda cute. But when I finally put my jacket back on, we ended up hugging for a little bit longer than usual.  Very sweet. All of the sudden he said:

“I have a feeling you could be good for me.”

And that made me smile. I said, “Maybe I am. Maybe we were meant to meet.”

No one has ever said anything like that to me. It just flowed. I felt, well…touched.  Still not sure what the outcome of our romance will be, so I will end this post the way I have ended others recently. I don’t know what it is about him, but I like this man.

9 Responses to “I Have a Feeling You Could Be Good for Me”

  1. jsutera654 April 21, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    I loved reading this friend! I hope he is good for you, as you are clearly good for him (well duh, its YOU, how could you NOT be good for him, hehe). Enjoy these moments friend, you just never know what’ll be around the bend. 🙂

    • Mel April 21, 2010 at 9:45 am #

      I’m just trying to breathe right now and enjoy it all. Next thing: he wants to play tennis. Which I haven’t done in YEARS! I need to get on that – it would be fun to do that with him.

  2. jolene1079 April 21, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    I love this too – that’s great, and I am so glad you are getting to know each other beyond sports and other fun stuff 😉 I think it sounds like you are both good for each other and are working on trying to take it one day a time, which is smart. XO!

    • Mel April 21, 2010 at 9:47 am #

      One date at a time. That’s kind of our mantra….though we are thinking a trip to Costa Rica end of this year would be fun…. But that gets far away from the one date at a time, thingy.

  3. Sara April 21, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    Smiling for you. 🙂

    • Mel April 21, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

      Thank honey!

  4. Deanna Leigh April 23, 2010 at 1:48 am #

    You know it’s soooo great when you finally get what you want out of a guy! Even if it is the little itty bitty details that put you at ease with someone being present in your life. Kudos!!

    • Mel April 23, 2010 at 8:16 am #

      Eh – we’ll see. It’s also the little details that make you re-think some relationships. Blog post coming soon. Sigh…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Knew This Was Going To Be Messy « This is Why I Date - May 10, 2010

    […] Which is somewhat sad to me.  I thought he had potential and for awhile, I thought he was on the same page with me.  I thought we could be good for one another.  I guess I was […]

Leave a Reply

