My Own Weekend

24 Apr

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking.  A lot has to do with the comments received from yesterday‘s post.

But I’ve also received a lot of comments outside of this blog, including:

  • It appears he’s not dating you, he’s dating your friends;
  • You need to make him want you again – you can like him a lot, but he needs to like you a little bit more.  The first you should: take care of yourself and do what you want to do; and
  • He thinks you’re already in a relationship and he’s friends may be giving him shit for spending so much time with you soon.

I can agree with every comment I’ve received. But what it comes down to is the following:

  • He needs to make me more of a priority.  The phone thing was rude (everyone agreed), but it shouldn’t be the be all, end all. BUT he does need to make me a priority – especially when I’m sitting in the same damn room as he is. I hope he learned from Thursday night (even if we don’t end up together);
  • I need to make myself happy again – which I never think I lost, BUT I need to remind myself of that daily. Today was a me day – a day where I slept in, spent time with the Bellster, and did what I wanted to do when I wanted to (and it helped with avoiding the phone to see if he tried to contact me);
  • I’m going to take it one day (date) at a time. If he wants to see me, he’s going to have to make the effort and make a date with me, in advance. If he doesn’t and I already have plans, so be it. Look at point #2 again where I need to make myself happy; and
  • Go with the flow. If it works, it works. If it doesn’t, the right man is out there waiting for me. I’ll find him.

I’m still mad at him – mad he was rude, mad he didn’t walk me out, mad that he didn’t invite me to the pub crawl today. If we were a couple – or even if he wanted to go in that direction – all of the abovementioned things wouldn’t be an issue. He wouldn’t have been rude with his phone, he would have walked me out, and he would have at least invited me to part of the pub crawl.

But like I said yesterday, que sera sera. If he’s the one, he’ll figure out he was wrong. If he’s not, well, like I said, I’ll find my true love.

2 Responses to “My Own Weekend”

  1. jolene1079 April 25, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    good points friend (not sure I understand this one though – “he’s not dating you, he’s dating your friends?) and I’m glad you are thinking it through and keeping YOU a priority and keeping YOU happy. Like I said in my post yesterday (which I hope you read!), WE deserve the best, nothing less. If it’s not him, you’ll find it…we both will. Or, we’ll live together and be cat ladies together. Just kidding ;-P XO!

  2. jsutera654 April 25, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    Agree with Jo – always look out for #1 first. First and foremost. Always. You deserve the best, no ifs ands or buts about it. You got this – even if this guy isn’t the right one for you (listen to your gut on that one, it never leads you wrong), you WILL meet him, I just wish I could tell you WHEN and WHERE but I can’t (same goes for Jo). In the meantime, cheers to good friends and fun to be had in the weeks to come (can you say quasi-high-class-bar-crawl returns??) xoxo

Leave a Reply

