The Man’s Side of it – A GGN

29 Apr

Last night I picked up my favorite dude at the airport. I’ve known him for ages. No really, I have – we’ve been friends since we were sophomores in college. And if I’m drunk enough, I’ll let him tell y’all how we met…it’s a doozey. AND he’s cute, sweet, smart, great conversationalist, and all around good guy.  Basically, if I didn’t think of him like a brother, I’d be all over him. But since I do think of him in that manner…I’d be happy to introduce all you ladies to him. Yea, I can pimp out my friends on my blog – it is my blog after all, and I’m a giver.

Anyhow, Favorite Dude came back from the BVI visiting another friend (booooo – as I was supposed to go too, but that is another story for another day) and I picked him up last night at the airport. Why am I telling you all of this? Because it sets up for the conversation we had over dinner. Now mind you, he hasn’t had much access to the internet, so he hasn’t had a chance to catch up my blog in the last week or so.  Here’s how our convo played out as I spoke with him about S (basically Favorite Dude took the words – and writing – right out of my mouth.)
Favorite Dude: So how’s the boy?

Me: Oh, I don’t know how I feel about him. I like him, I really do, but we already seem to be doing the same things over again. I mean, I go to his house and all we do is hang out and watch sports.

Favorite Dude: So he’s comfortable with you already.  That’s a good thing.  That’s not necessarily bad.

Me: I know. But I don’t want to do just that. I want to do more. I want romance, I want more.

Favorite Dude: Then tell him.  Tell him you want to do more, tell him you want to try new restaurants…

Me: I did.

Favorite Dude: OK then. See what happens. If he doesn’t do those things, then you know….

Me: I know, I know.  But, he is a lot of fun and I enjoy hanging out with him and sometimes…well a girl needs some.

Favorite Dude: I’m glad you said that, because I’ve thought that before about dating. Sometimes a girls got needs too (or GGN.) You can quote me on that in your blog.

Me: Oh I will.

Well that was only a piece of it…and I may have paraphrased a bit, but you get the jist.

Favorite Dude has been a part of my life forever and has seen me make all my mistakes – he even heard about them when he lived in Belgium for several years. He gives me the guy’s perspective, which I appreciate. I know, I know – I deserve the best and I shouldn’t settle. And I won’t. If S isn’t the one, I’m smart enough to know to end it. But don’t I also have the right to give him a chance to see if he is listening to me? If he will do what I want? And in the meantime, have a little fun too?  Some of you may not agree, but I may need to play this one out….

5 Responses to “The Man’s Side of it – A GGN”

  1. jolene1079 April 29, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

    Favorite Dude – love it!! And jealous of BVI, fo sho…

    as for S – I don’t think he’s listening to you….however, of course you have the right to see if he does, just don’t drag it out, please, you are worth so much more than that. WAY more than you think. seriously. (if I was a man, I’d date you – LOL – wow, that’s going to look so bad on here, isn’t it?)

    ;-P

    • Mel April 29, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

      I won’t drag it out. Even Favorite Dude won’t let me (I’m willing to bet.)

      And if I were a man, I’d date you too. 🙂

      • jolene1079 April 29, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

        Aw shucks 😉

  2. Snark B April 29, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    Wait… girls have NEEDS? When did this happen? Well, dating just got a whole lot more complicated. SIGH.

    • Mel April 29, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

      Funny how that works, huh Snark?

Leave a Reply

