Realizing When Something is Over

7 May

What a roller coaster of a week.  Between two major appliances breaking down; multiple dentist appointments (and more to come); the boil your water-naw you don’t have to boil your water ordinance- but you still need to flush out all your pipes; work; side projects; Cinco de Mayo (nope, no complaints there) – I’ve had a busy week.  So much so, that I haven’t even had a chance to get super excited about my upcoming vacations. Give me a few days – I’ll start getting excited for them all!  Even if they are just mini, day trips to visit friends and family.

I’m still in my own head. And need to get a couple of things out of it – though for some reason, posting it here in this medium just doesn’t seem right to me. I can however, get one thing out of it – S.

Over the past couple of days, I realized it was over with him. And when I realized it, a friend of mine asked me how I felt (sad, mad, upset, relieved??) And what it comes down to is – I feel, well…nothing.  I will say this – I like him and thought he had potential. At the same time, I also realized he leads one lifestyle and I lead quite another. And that is OK. If two people are meant to be with each, they can meld their kamikaze lives into one. If they aren’t meant to be, well then, that is OK too and they can both move on.

I haven’t heard from him in three days.  Three days.  So I’ve realized whatever we started in the past few weeks is over.  Part of me wants to call him and officially end it (on my terms – this Miami Jew wants retribution of some sort) and the other part of me (the Zen-part) says let it go. If he wants back in my life, he can try (whether I let him back in or not, is another story.) That is IF he wants back in. But I’m thinking, after three days of no word from him, he’s made his decision. And like I said, I feel “nothing” – so that tells me something. I’m OK with it.  Move on – I’ll find my Prince soon.

So I’m keeping up with what has helped me become more comfortable and happy in my own skin again – focusing on ME. What I want, what I want to do, when I want to do it.  I am taking another “Me Weekend” – getting my hair did, Elizabeth Grady appointments, grocery shopping (trying a new crockpot recipe), hanging with my favorite neighbor, and trying a Group Kick class (eek – wish me major luck with this one!)

Side note: in case I forget to say it on Sunday….wishing all my Mama friends a very happy, wonderful, and blissful weekend. You are all my heroes and I love ya! MWAH!  Sending virtual flowers and chocolate.

5 Responses to “Realizing When Something is Over”

  1. jolene1079 May 7, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    I’m sorry friend – for the craptastic week and for things ending with S. Even if it may be for the best, it always sucks when things end…that’s how I felt about CBE, it was for the best, but at the same time, sorta sucky, either way. And I can’t WAIT to help you get your ass kicked on Sunday!! Yay, exciting 🙂

    • Mel May 7, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

      It’s fine. Honestly, it is. It is his loss. I’m kinda over it and looking forward to the weekend.

  2. Meg May 7, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    Pampering is always such a nice treat!

    • Mel May 7, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

      I know it is – I’m looking forward to it. My hair is a *little* outta control these days!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Realizing When Something is Over « This is Why I Date -- Topsy.com - May 7, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by ThreeMinutesInHeaven, Melissa Lane. Melissa Lane said: new post: Realizing When Something is Over (we've all been there, I bet) http://bit.ly/aBvaZh […]

Leave a Reply

