An Open Letter

30 Jun

To all of my little bloggy world,

There’s a lot going on in my life. A lot I haven’t even told my IRL friends. I’m at a crossroads in my life and I’m not sure what to do. I have the opportunity to accept a great position with a new company, but something is holding me back.

Part of me thinks that the universe is trying to tell me something. What? I’m not sure, but the idea of moving from Beantown back down to the Sunny South is part of it. There’s a lot going on down there and I feel I need to go down and help.Β  Family-wise that is.

Hard to explain. Being an only-child and having one parent makes you think about things in a different way. Especially when you feel helpless being 1,300+ miles away when your family needsΒ  you back at home. Life would be easier if I moved closer to them. Maybe not for me, but for the ones I’ve left behind.

So you see, I’ve been cranky b/c I’m not sure what to do. Not sure if I should take the job, move back home (which is something I’ve thought about a lot lately in the past few months), or just stay being a beach bum.

Yes, random post. But…I wouldn’t be me if I weren’t just a little random here and there.

XO

15 Responses to “An Open Letter”

  1. Deanna Leigh June 30, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    It’s okay to be cranky sometimes! Just make sure you make choices that are going to serve you best, and while family is ubber important they would want you to be happy, no?

    • Mel June 30, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

      You’re right. Maybe cranky isn’t the right word. Confused? Contemplating? They want me to be happy, but I think part of me would be happier if I was back home. Being so far away from family all these years has been tough. I just look back at all these years and wonder what I was running away from all this time.

      • Deanna Leigh June 30, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

        I completely understand!! It’s part of why I moved back home after the Monkey was born. I needed to rest and get back to me.

      • Mel June 30, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

        How is the Monkey??????

  2. Tarrah June 30, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    I’m pretty sure Boston isn’t going anywhere. If Boston isn’t giving you everything you need right now, take a leap of faith, you can always move back. And besides, I’d like somewhere else to visit! πŸ˜‰

    • Mel June 30, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

      Very true, very T. But you know we can always make a trip to the Sunny South whenever you want. πŸ™‚

  3. Snark B June 30, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    Is the great new position down south or in Beantown?

    These kinds of decisions are always tough. Try to imagine you’ve already made a decision. Start assuming that that will be your future. Does it feel right? Or are you still having misgivings?

    Once the decision has been made and there’s no going back, don’t second-guess yourself. Jump into your new life and don’t look back. Good luck!

    • Mel June 30, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

      To be honest, life is all over the place right now, not sure what is right. There are worse things, right?? As always, thank you thank you thank you for your advice.

  4. Sara June 30, 2010 at 11:15 pm #

    I’ve never regretted (much) a decision to be with my family. Whether it was spending time with them, visiting them, moving near them, not having the job I always thought I would, etc. Do I wish I had a different job? Yes. Would I give up what I do have with my family in order to have that job? No. That doesn’t mean that it’s the right decision for you. Just my personal experience. 9/11 made me realize how important family is. All I could think about was the family I had and the family that I hadn’t had to the opportunity to have yet.

    As Tarrah said, if Boston is really where you are supposed to be, it will be waiting for you when you get back.

    Listen to your heart. Don’t make the safe choice – which ever choice it may be. Make the choice that speaks to you in the ways that really matter to you. I love you.

    • Mel July 1, 2010 at 7:45 am #

      I agree. But in this time of uncertainty, where I would probably take a HUGE loss on the condo and not even make a decent living in the Sunny South. Let’s face it – Miami doesn’t have the job opportunities in my field that I need to even make a decent living. It is tough. I was never one to be safe, and right now, I’m not sure what is safe. Staying here or moving back. Both are risky. πŸ˜‰

      Hugs – miss you girl!

      • jolene1079 July 1, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

        I think your response here is your decision – however – and big however, if the South is where your heart is, dear, then there is always a way to make it work. Renting out your condo, selling it to your ‘roomie’ (lol) etc., so take the leap if the leap is calling. Trust me, I am thinking of the leap too. Far. As in California, because, why not? Life’s too short to have regrets, right? XO friend (and um, I’d miss you terribly, but as Tarrah brings up a great point – another place to visit!) πŸ˜‰

  5. Amy July 1, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    I took some time off and moved back home after college because I felt I needed to be there for my family. I will never regret that decision. As a recent grad at the time, I know I should’ve been frantic about finding a “real job”, but time with family was something I couldn’t sacrifice. Follow your gut, it’s usually never wrong!

    • Mel July 1, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

      You’re so right!! I need to take some time for me. This break between jobs is bringing some clarity for me. Thanks for stopping by!

  6. D July 2, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    I’ve been pushing Jo on the Cali move, and friend I will push you too! πŸ™‚ I love you guys, and of course would miss the heck out of you, but you have to follow your heart (just like the rest have said). Never have “what ifs”, i do and at times I regret it, and at times I don’t because then I wouldn’t have what I have now, my little boy. So leap, jump, run, crawl, but make sure your heart is leading the way.

    • Mel July 2, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

      I agree with you. But unfortunately – I’ve realized in my old age (hee hee hee) – $ talks. Unfortunately, I have to be realistic of the economy. I’d lose on my condo and I don’t think I’d get a comparable job in MIA. Maybe if times were different, I’d pick up and move IMMEDIATELY. Right now, my brain is overtaking my heart.

Leave a Reply

