What Does a Birthday Really Mean?

8 Jul

So yesterday I turned 21, 25, 29…fine, fine – I turned 32! But it was very different from past years. I mean really,  when you’re a kid, all you want is to go to bday parties and hold them at your favorite hangout place.  When I was a kid, it was Hot Wheels, where everyone went rollerskating (NOT rollerblading, but skating!)  That was THE place to go. And it was fun – for most people. For me, I just wanted to get out alive. Once a klutz, always a klutz. But as a person gets older, they look forward to new milestones.  Let’s review:

  • Age 10 – you finally hit double digits
  • Age 13 –  you are a  teenager
  • Age 16 – you can finally drive and borrow mom’s car
  • Age 18 – you can buy cigarettes (legally)…ummm….go to college
  • Age 21 – you can drink at bars legally  and get rid of that fake ID you acquired when you were 20….graduate college
  • Age 24 – you spend your first birthday without your mother. And you realize how special that day once was for your parents. It hits you that your bday isn’t just about YOU, it was also your parents’ anniversary for 27 years. OK, so maybe I hit my quarterlife crisis a bit too early.
  • Age 25 – you really start to figure out who you are and get past that quarterlife crisis thingamajig
  • Age 30 – you know who you are and want to celebrate.

But at 32, I decided to have a “me” day. A day where I do whatever I want, whenever I want.  A day where I was able to reflect on what is important in life.

Now one day later, I’ve separated myself from my day and realized just how lucky I am.

7 Responses to “What Does a Birthday Really Mean?”

  1. jsutera654 July 8, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    Love this, friend. I’m glad you took yesterday as your “me” day…but now I gotta know, what did you figure out in your reflections?? Inquiring minds want to know 🙂

  2. Heather (Where's the Beach) July 8, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    Love that list. Too funny. Hope you had a great day doing whatever and whenever!

  3. jolene1079 July 8, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    I love this too…great writing my dear. Glad the me day was what you wanted.

  4. Akirah July 8, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    I hope you had a fun “me-day”/birthday. You deserve it.

  5. IntrigueMe July 8, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    Ah ha ha, I am so gullible! I didn’t know Jolene COULD be sarcastic so I really thought it was your 25th! Would you like me to go on thinking that? I could if you’d like. lol

    Anyway, glad you had a nice day!!

  6. Deanna Leigh July 8, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    I love Me days! Good for you.

  7. itneverrainsinseattle July 9, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    Happy Belated Birthday, friend!

    May this next lap around the sun be your best yet!

Leave a Reply

