I Rejoined Match, but…

22 Jul

So I just rejoined Match – for a month. And I’ve been pleasantly surprised with some of the responses.  And I started a new job. One would think I’d have a lot of positive things to talk about it. But I can’t. Not today.

A dear friend died yesterday.  And not just died, but murdered. Viciously, horribly murdered. I speak with friends and none of us can even begin to comprehend what may have been going through her mind during those last few minutes of her life.

Since I found out, I’ve felt angry, lost, hurt, sick to my stomach, and completely scatterbrained. I want to fly down for the wake tomorrow. But I can’t. Why? B/c I can’t walk into my new boss’ office and say “hey, I know I’ve only been here for two whole days, but a friend of mine from HS was killed and I need to fly down to FL.”  Well that and its more than $500 AND a tropical storm is destined to hit S. Florida…oh tomorrow afternoon.

So, instead of flying down, for some reason I feel the need to do laundry. And drink. Drink a lot. Lots and lots of vodka.

R.I.P. Queen – you were one helluva gal.  And this post, as scatterbrained as it is, will never do you justice, and can’t ever capture your true beauty or how helpless I feel. We may have lost you, but we know heaven gained a wonderful angel.

23 Responses to “I Rejoined Match, but…”

  1. jolene1079 July 22, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    I am sure your new boss would completely understand, if it’s what you want to do. If not, that person is heartless. Just sayin. And I will say a prayer for your friend, that is tragic and awful, and I am at a loss for words.

    And on the happy side, glad you rejoined match. looking forward to the stories…and damn you, now I want to rejoin match. Must resist.

    • Mel July 22, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

      OH god no – my boss would totally understand. This company definitely puts family first. It is that stupid f-in hurricane that is mainly keeping me from flying down. Most flights would be delayed or canceled – and that would be pointless. OK, back to vodka….

      • jolene1079 July 22, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

        Okay, just checking. Well, a stand-by flight might not be a bad idea, never know if the weather changes.

  2. IntrigueMe July 22, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    When I was thirteen, my Aunt was killed by her husband. So, I understand what it’s like to go through something like this, it affects more than just the immediate family, and people don’t seem to realize that- so if you need someone to talk to… you know where to find me. 🙂

    • Single Girl July 22, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

      This post just broke my heart. How awful! Big hugs from a stranger hundreds of miles away…:)

      • Mel July 23, 2010 at 8:57 am #

        Thanks honey. Appreciate the thoughts.

    • Mel July 23, 2010 at 8:57 am #

      Thanks for chatting last night. It helped.

  3. Akirah July 23, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    I’m so sorry to hear about your friend. You’ll be in my thoughts…

    • Mel July 26, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

      Thanks honey. I appreciate it!

  4. D July 23, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    Mel so sorry to hear about your friend. If you can’t make it down to FL because of the hurricane, I’m sure she will understand. And the best way to celebrate her would be to do something she loved to do. Heck if it invloves vodka even better! Stay strong friend, I’m sure she would want you to remember the good times, laugh at the past and keep her spirit alive. 🙂 Ok I’m crying.

    • Mel July 26, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

      You – stop crying!! XOXOXO Miss you!

  5. imerika July 23, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    I’m really sorry Mel.
    I work with crime victims and I’m always so astounded by the stories….it’s absolutely midblowing to me how anyone could ever get to the point where they think it’s ok to take away some one’s life….they don’t just end that one person’s life, they affect all the people who loved that person and had hopes.
    I always try and put myself in their shoes, and wonder what i would do if something like that ever happened to me, and i just pray that it never does…

    • Mel July 26, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

      It is mindblowing and mindnumbing to say the least. Just catching up after a busy weekend of phone catch up with folks from back home.

  6. ohhayitskk July 25, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    So sorry to hear about your friend.

    • Mel July 26, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

      Thanks darling. I appreciate the kind words.

  7. Spencer Park July 26, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    I don’t know what to say other then my condolences to you and anyone that knew your friend.

    • Mel July 26, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

      That is very sweet of you. Good and bad – it brought a lot of closer again. Even if for a brief while.

  8. Deanna Leigh July 26, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

    Oh sweetie! Dude when the shit hits the fan it really does, doesn’t it? Hugs to you my friend.

    • Mel July 26, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

      Yes, it certainly does. And the stories keep on coming. I feel absolutely awful for her husband and parents. I just hope one day they find some peace.

  9. Snark B July 27, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    That’s awful. I’m really sorry to hear that. I also hope her family and friends (and you) find some peace out of this tragedy.

    • Mel July 27, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

      Thanks buddy. Been a rough couple of weeks. Hopeful to get out of this silly little funk asap.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One Can Happen in Four Weeks « This is Why I Date - August 6, 2010

    […] that post, I’ve gone through an emotional rollercoaster with a friend back home.  And I think it opened my eyes.  A bit. I realized life is way too short. So I’ve […]

  2. What Can Happen in Four Weeks « This is Why I Date - August 6, 2010

    […] that post, I’ve gone through an emotional rollercoaster with a friend back home.  And I think it opened my eyes.  A bit. I realized life is way too short. So I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

