Immersion Project

10 Aug

So as part of my Stratejoy class (which I love!), I am challenged to do something new and different every day this week. EVERY DAY!  Molly said it could be any little small thing like taking a new route to work or ordering a different sandwich at lunch. OR it could be as big as booking a trip I’ve wanted to take for a long time.

Like any good pupil, I dived right into this project. Afterall, it was a perfect week for me to be involved in this process since I already had planned two new activities in ziplining and wine tasting.  Perfect, huh?  Those are pretty big things. And I’m trying a new recipe for a BBQ I’m going to on Sat.  Got the entire weekend covered.

What to do the rest of the week….

Well, I changed up my morning routine yesterday and I felt a big lighter.  It made me feel less confined, less constricted – more like the woman I want to become.

I have other ideas I want to try – contact a new reporter at work one day this week, go out for coffee in the middle of the day, etc etc. But today, well today, I decided to write a blog post I never thought I would. Something completely unrelated to my dating life, work life, etc. A topic I never thought I would discuss (here or anywhere else.)

My mom.

As part of this project, last night I was asked to write about gratitude and discuss something I was thankful for in my past. It was easy – my parents. Yes, we had problems when I was growing up – I was a headstrong, only child, and was growing up in a big city who thought she knew it all. OF COURSE WE WOULD HAVE PROBLEMS.  But I am still thankful for my parents who molded into the woman I am today and who influence who I want to be in the future.

My mom *was* a wonderful human being. She was a teacher her entire career. Mostly special ed students, but towards the latter years, she taught 4th graders (she was even cool enough to read them Harry Potter.) She was a little plump my entire life, loved to shop, kept a clean house, and with my dad made a loving home for me and our cats. I loved summers when I could spend days with her. And cherished the weekends when I used to go shopping with her and my aunt.

When I was 21, I was home for some reason or another from college (I think Thanksgiving) and they told me.  My mom had cancer. It was a rare kind (formed in her appendix originally) and she was to undergo *light* chemo and radiation (lighter than what they give breast cancer patients.) She was going to take the rest of the year off from teaching to focus on getting better.

I don’t remember what my reaction was, but all I remember was that they told me I could call the Seven Year Man to talk with him if I needed to. I did. I think. I can’t remember much.

So I went back to school, put on a happy face and focused on completing my senior year in Beantown.  Then I got more news. Mom was going to have a hysterectomy 10 days before my graduation. Ok… DO YOU KNOW HOW LONG IT TAKES TO RECOUP FROM THAT? 10 FLIPPIN’ DAYS! So now I was faced with my mom having surgery, my dad having to take care of her, and neither one of them attending my college graduation. Something WE ALL COLLECTIVELY worked on for four years as  a family.

I couldn’t handle it. What do you mean? More surgery? Why? How? Can you still come to Beantown? What do you mean? I don’t understand….

Why was this happening? To her? To us? I didn’t understand and at a time when I had the world at my fingertips, I crumbled.

What happened next? I’ll explain in a second post later this week. It’s getting too long. But I’ll get there. You’ll have a better understanding of me (whether you like or not!) before too long.

XO

9 Responses to “Immersion Project”

  1. Miss Over Thinker August 10, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    I think I need to see your previous post to follow the link to the Stratejoy class to find out more about it..

    I speak from first hand experience that hearing that one of your parents has cancer is the hardest thing one can hear in their lifetime…. and it’s one of those moments you never forget ever… will wait for your next post.. hugs.

    • TisWID August 10, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

      Thanks for the kind words honey. It took a lot to write these posts (second will post later this week.) I never talked about it before – outside of the folks who went through it with me. Putting it down on “paper” was a lot harder and more emotional than I thought. But I am grateful to my mom and everything she has done for me.

      And yes, check out Stratejoy. It is pretty awesome.

  2. IntrigueMe August 10, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    I’m sure I’m not going to like what happens next, but I look forward to reading and gaining more insight. 🙂

    Good on you for the new challenges this week, you go girl!

    • TisWID August 11, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

      I like the “you go girl” part. I kinda made good on two new things today. I wrote a pitch to contact a new reporter for a client AND I went out in the middle of the day to buy coffee. I don’t know if I can double dip on this process, but at least I’m breaking out of my shell a bit.

      Part 2 to come tomorrow.

  3. jolene1079 August 10, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    friend, I haven’t ever seen you write or speak much about your mom, and I know it all happened a few years before we met, but I am touched reading this…you are stronger than you ever give your self credit for.

    • TisWID August 11, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

      Ahhhh thanks Joda. Only a few went through this process with me. And to be honest only Seven Year Man, roomie, and BFF saw the breakdowns and experienced it all with me.

  4. meg August 10, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    I hope you send your a dad copy of this. PL would heart it.

    • TisWID August 11, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

      That is a great idea. Only one hiccup – PL knows nothing about this blog. I’d have some ‘splaining to do….We’ll see. Maybe. I need to think about that one for a bit.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Immersion Project – Part 2 « This is Why I Date - August 12, 2010

    […] TisWID in Reflection Tags: Journey, Life So earlier this week, I talked about the beginning of my mom’s […]

Leave a Reply

