I Should Be Excited About My Date…

25 Aug

But I’m not. Not because I’m not looking forward to the date, but I’m doing the responsible thing and re-scheduling.  I had a minor procedure on Monday and the pain medication I was put on is making me loopy. I wouldn’t be on my “A” game. And we’ve had good conversations and I was already figuring out my outfit. But it wouldn’t be as fun with me feeling this way. And I don’t want my head to start throbbing in the middle of this cool bar we were planning to meet at….

I emailed him today – date is scheduled for tomorrow – and asked him if we could re-schedule for next week, same place. I hope he doesn’t think I’m blowing him off because I do want to meet up with him (he’s cute too!)

Did I do the right thing? What would you do?

OK, with that being said, I’m going to bed.  Sleep well peeps.

11 Responses to “I Should Be Excited About My Date…”

  1. Snark B August 26, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    Yes, you did the right thing.

    I would just make sure that he knows why you’re re-scheduling, and that you’re not blowing him off but you really want to see him, but you also want to be at your best. That seems reasonable to me. You might even send him a message (or however you communicate) during the time of the original scheduled date, just so he knows you really didn’t blow him off for something better.

    Good luck and feel better!

    • TisWID August 26, 2010 at 10:08 am #

      I did – I told him I had a headcold and wasn’t feeling great at all and was hoping it would go away, but hadn’t yet. I figured telling him I had gum surgery was a little too much TMI – that and the fact I’ve been going to bed at 9 PM b/c the meds I’m taking makes me foggy, doesn’t make me sound like a whole lotta fun. Or it makes me sound like a druggie. Either way, not a good 1st date impression. 🙂

      I emailed him yesterday so he didn’t think it was a blowoff and suggested meeting next week at the same place. Told him to pick any day since I was pretty much free most of the week. No word back though 😦 I may text him. We’ll see!

  2. Sarah August 26, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    Definitely did the right thing.

    Hopefully, he sees it as what it is and not a perceived blow-off. (That’s what she said? Sorry. . .)

    I also don’t think gum surgery is TMI, but whatever you’re comfortable with is what you should tell people. 🙂

    • TisWID August 26, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

      It isn’t TMI? Hmmmm….I just didn’t want to skeeve him out.

  3. verybadcat August 26, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    you did the right thing. 🙂

  4. Meg August 26, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    If someone called you and postponed for a week, would you have believed them? Or would you have been skeptical? If he doesn’t seem too keen on the postponement – just take it with a grain of salt and remember that you did tell the truth. He doesn’t know you, or how you operate to know that bailing is not your M.O.

    • TisWID August 26, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

      Would I have been skeptical? Maybe? If they canceled that day, which is why I tried to re-schedule more than 24 hrs in advance. Still no word back though. I hope he read it. I still feel all foggy.

  5. Miss Over Thinker August 27, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    You definitely did the right thing.. I would have done the same.. he may have thought you were blowing him off if you hadn’t set another date.. but since you have, you have nothing to worry about..

    hope you feel better soon and tell us about your date soon 🙂

    • TisWID August 27, 2010 at 10:53 am #

      I would LOVE to tell you about my date. If it ever happens. He hasn’t responded to email or my text. I read both of my correspondence to him to my BFF and she thought it sounded OK, like I wasn’t blowing him off. But maybe other chicks have in the past and this is how he is reacting. If he wants to ignore me and that’s how he deals with it, glad I found out it BEFORE our first date. He’s being a douchcanoe. 🙂 Or I’m overreacting. Both are plausible.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why I Think Men are Dumb…. « This is Why I Date - August 27, 2010

    […] But I guess right now, I don’t undestand what is going on with the male gender.  I wrote earlier this week about a potential date.  Let me recap quickly.  We had some fun email correspondence […]

Leave a Reply

