Why I Think Men are Dumb….

27 Aug

OK, that is a general statement that I shouldn’t make. But I guess right now, I don’t undestand what is going on with the male gender.  I wrote earlier this week about a potential date.  Let me recap quickly.  We had some fun email correspondence going for a couple of weeks and I thought he was cute, interesting, and was different from most men I have dated. I was looking forward to it.

And then I had a minor gum procedure – I was in pain and the pain medication I was given made me feel loopy. Even the extra strength tylenol had negative affects on me. I could barely talk (which is RARE FOR ME!) I asked to reschedule with him – and I asked him more than 24 hrs in advance AND I texted him that day. I explained I was under the weather and wanted to resched – same place, next week on any day that worked for him.

Did I expect an immediate reaction? No. But did I expect SOME reaction? Abso-freakin-lutely.

I never heard back from him – from either correspondence.  What did I do wrong? Is it me or is it him? Did he take it personally? I know its not personal, but does he?

And if he takes something as innocent as this personally, was it really going to be a good fit? Because let’s be honest – any relationship can only  handle ONE dramatic person. 🙂

Let’s discuss. Though I anticipate some backlash from folks out there with my general comments re: male gender.

10 Responses to “Why I Think Men are Dumb….”

  1. jolene1079 August 27, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    This peeves me too – I think I wrote something on this recently, if I recall too – it’s about common courtesy, and sadly, some just don’t have it. It’s lame, and it’s rude and it’s immature. Why they can’t just respond, even if it’s a thanks but no thanks is beyond me. I’m sorry friend! No advice, just totally hear ya. Guess it sorta comes with the territory.

  2. imerika August 27, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    If he gets so oversensitive about things like this, then you’re probably saving yourself a lot of hassle. If a guy sent me an email AND a text asking to reschedule, I would give him the benefit of the doubt and reschedule. But if he failed to show up the second time, then that’s it. I’m a two-strikes-and-you’re-out kinda girl.

  3. lifebytheday August 27, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    LOL, I love the comment about only one dramatic person per relationship! There are clearly two in my marriage…which works better some days than others. 😉

    • TisWID August 30, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

      HAHAHA – I don’t know if I would consider both you and S dramatic. Definitely S, but not you. At least not all the time. XOXOX 😉

  4. Akirah August 27, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    Hmm. Weird. I don’t see why it would be a big deal for him to get back to you. Sigh. I’m sorry girl.

  5. Snark B August 28, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    He sounds like a total douchetoboggan, or whatever insult is in vogue now.

    Maybe he’s hyper sensitive and thought you were blowing him off. Maybe he thought he found something better. (In which case he’s wrong and blew his chance at the best thing that could have ever happened to him.) You’ll never know. Move on. Bring on the next frog…

    • TisWID August 28, 2010 at 11:49 am #

      HAHAHAHAHA! You always make me laugh. I’m so glad you’re not a douchecanoe. And I totally appreciate your kind words, but I’m so sick and tired of kissing these dumb ol’ frogs. Especially if he’s hypersensitive.

  6. IntrigueMe August 29, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    Probably an unfortunate but simple case of “he’s just not that into you”. Hard to accept, I know… but if he was he’d have responded right away with a new plan for next week… just like me and that stupid Iranian- says he wants to meet up then never gets in touch. Nothing can explain men, but I do know that if they really like a girl, they’ll work for it… and they should!!

    So… on to the next!! 🙂

  7. verybadcat August 30, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    boys can be so stupid sometimes. *sigh*

    • TisWID August 30, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

      *Sometimes?* I kid I kid. Yes, just sometimes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

