Greatest Compliment Ever

30 Aug

“You always have some guy on the backburner.”

OK, ok – if you read that statment as a standalone comment, it makes me sound kinda, sorta, well like a slut.  Or at the very least, someone with a somewhat active social life.  So let’s put this statement into context:

I needed a “me” weekend again. But before that happened, I had a ladies night after work on Friday. We had a good time – apps and wine before heading out for a nightcap.  Lowkey, but very fun. And I always like hanging out with my lovely ladies. At one point, one of these ladies asked me if I was dating someone and then followed it up with I must be because “you always have some guy on the backburner.”

Hmmmmm. Is that true?  Let’s evaluate.

I looked back at my life in recent years and more often than not I have been dating some giuy or another. This is a big compliment for me because growing up, I felt I was the ugly duckling – well up until I was a junior in college. I never dated in HS and started late in college.  In fact, I never kissed a boy until I was 17 – on the night of my senior prom. I was the late bloomer, one of the last people asked to go to prom, the one who was always the “friend” and never the “love interest.”  So now being the one known as a person always dating someone is a compliment.

I just want to be more. 

I just hope that one day that turns from “you always have a guy on the backburner” to “you have a great guy who loves you deeply.” And in my heart, I know one day that statement will come true.

8 Responses to “Greatest Compliment Ever”

  1. verybadcat August 30, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    yes, it will. i swear it. me too, right? i have a date wednesday, but we just met in person on friday, and i, um, well. half of what i did had to be relayed to me by my bestie in a google chat over the weekend. so. i kinda can’t believe he wants to see me again? but he does. and he’s cute and he’s smart, and HIS HOUSE IS SUPER CLEAN. hmm. maybe i should have asked you to google chat instead of posting this here…

    • TisWID August 30, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

      Verybadcat – that is awesome. YAY for you. But do I dare ask HOW you know his house is super clean already???? Hmmmm…maybe google chat is better. Screenname is the same as this blog. And PS – PLEASE keep me posted on Wed’s date.

  2. jolene1079 August 30, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Aw, glad you had fun Friday. I did too! And you WILL be more to someone – I promise. XO.

    • TisWID August 30, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

      From your lips to God’s ears. Or is it from your fingertips…. either way. Here’s hopin’ you’re correct!

  3. Miss Over Thinker August 30, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    That statement will most definitely come true and sooner than you think..:)

    • TisWID August 30, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

      Oh I love ya for that comment. XOXO

  4. jsutera654 August 30, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    Dear, you are not and never were an ugly duckling (how sad to think you felt that way growing up!)- you are beautiful just the way you are. Just sayin.’ xo

    • TisWID August 30, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

      Oh thank you my love. HOWEVER, if you’d like me to bust out the many pics of me with glasses and braces AND acne AND BAD BANGS that I sported as a child, you may think otherwise. Beautiful on the inside, yes, (hee hee), but it took some time for the outside to catch up a little. Wow – that sounds RIDICULOUSLY narcisstic of me. WHOA!

Leave a Reply

