Another Reason You Need a Man in the House

4 Sep

Huh? Yeah, you read it right.  I was told that a few minutes ago.

Let’s rewind. The week has been a peach. Let me tell you.

Work has been good – work has actually been excellent. I really, really enjoy it. BUT with the house – well, its being going downhill. Last weekend I was told I needed to buy a new washing machine (it was due – it’s 24 years old) AND I found out the re-fi will most likely NOT come though. A note to any appraisers reading this blog – I HATE YOU AND YOU ARE THE DEVIL.

So after I found out my washing machine couldn’t be repaired, I did my research and went out and bought new machines.  The salesman bamboozled me and sold me something that was too big. I tried to explain to him it would be, but he assured me it wouldn’t.

It was.

According to the delivery man – who for some reason after being in my house for 10 mins, I trusted wasn’t trying to bamboozle me. But he did have a few choice words for me when it came to the measurements I needed for the washing machine.

Another Reason You Need a Man in the House

Whoa! That was a kicker I wasn’t expecting. Just because I’m a single girl living alone doesn’t mean I need a man. Want one – sure, but need. Nope, not really. I knew my shit when buying this appliance. The only thing I needed was to trust my gut and I didn’t last week.  <insert major sigh> Like I do with most men, I’ll start trusting my guy with major appliance purchases too.

So it’s back off to the store for me – hoping I can get the right machine this time. And this time I’ll trust my gut.

*******

On a side note.  I realized something else this week. We as a generation have forgotten our manners. We’ve forgotten what its like to be nice and decent to other human beings. If I gave up my home for you and even held a package for you that was delivered AFTER you moved out – telling me a simple “thank you” would be appropriate. I’ve given my all to people, and quite frankly, I no longer have it in me.  I feel I treat people the way I would want to be treated and more often than not, its not returned. Shame on you for not doing that, but shame on me for being so naive to expect it.

8 Responses to “Another Reason You Need a Man in the House”

  1. suki September 4, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

    While I brought the guy along to buy the washer/dryer, I was the one ultimately deciding which one to get. SO I don’t think it’s something one needs a man for. You just have to know your specs and stick to it. I hate when salespeople try to tell me otherwise.

    • TisWID September 4, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

      I know and I let it happen! That’s what kills me…I knew better. And now I’m paying the price.

  2. IntrigueMe September 5, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    That delivery man would have gotten a stiff tongue-lashing if he’d said that to me! And, I really hope you made the store pay for the delivery fees and re-delivery fees since they schmoozed you into buying the too-big machine.

    • TisWID September 5, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

      Hahaha – I almost did, but I was too dumbfounded!! So for once, I was speechless. Thank god there were no fees or else I’d go kicking and screaming into the store.

  3. BigLittleWolf September 6, 2010 at 5:11 pm #

    This sounds like an excellent reason to rant. Those who insist they know what they’re doing (and are in a position to lead one to believe that) and… the dread post-facto-gut-realization – that we should have heeded all along.

    As for the needing vs wanting a man – that’s a whole other (semantic?) discussion. Suffice it to say, some of us need brawny assistance with skills we may not possess – regardless of the gender they may come in.

    Now. About that respect issue. I’m with you! On the other hand, some people still believe in doing the right thing, in keeping their word, and in simple things like thank you. Sadly, not enough.

    Ugh – my own battle to fight (again) over a car problem that was (theoretically) fixed and I know it wasn’t… Endless, isn’t it? (Nice rant!!!)

    • TisWID September 16, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

      Glad you like my rant!!! I sometimes wonder if I rant too much. But I think we need to all be a bit more respectful.

  4. ToppHogg September 17, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    Women are just as capable of handling physical measurements as men are. I know this from working with female engineers, who tend to be less arrogant about their education versus mine, and who remain open to observations from the like of us mere men who don’t have BSxE after our names.

    Now – if only our wives were as accepting!

    • TisWID September 17, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

      Amen brotha, amen!

Leave a Reply

