The Mini Date

8 Oct

I am starting a revolution in the world of dating – the MINI DATE. Yes, feel free to quote me on that one.  But it’s great…and here’s why. Oh wait, let me first explain what a mini date actually is.

A mini date is one that is shortened in time. Not the person, himself. But the time you are allotted on said date.  So two nights ago, I went on one of these. Here’s how it played out.  I had to work until a little after 5, he had an event he had to be at by 7, so we met at 5:30 for drinks and apps.  We knew it was only going to be an hour or so – so there was no pressure. No, thinking “How long do I have to sit here talking with this person?” No…”What else can we come up with after two hours of talking?” None of that – we knew we had a finite amount of time, so we filled the hour getting to know one another and just talking like friends.

No pressure.

The beauty of the mini date.  Takes SO much pressure off of everything.

Now, will this date go anywhere? Not sure. We’ll see. Only time will tell. In the meantime, I suggest all you daters try the mini date!

19 Responses to “The Mini Date”

  1. Snark B October 8, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    The mini-date is one extreme. At the other end is the super date weekends I have with my gf. That’s what you do when you live 700 miles apart. We’ve never had a regular date where we each go back to our respective homes at the end of the evening.

    I hope your mini-date spawns lots of bigger dates.

    • TisWID October 8, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

      Awww Snark!! But things are going well between you and the gf!! One day, you’ll have a normal date. I promise!

  2. IntrigueMe October 8, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    I think my mini-dates should be 45 minutes. Imagine how much I could have been spared if I’d gone on a mini-date with TYFNTMIB! Great Idea!

    • TisWID October 8, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

      Totally! Good point!!!

  3. meg October 8, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    is he cute? mini dates remove so much anxietya!

    • TisWID October 11, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

      Yes – anxiety was totally lifted. Though sometimes, I like that part…all depends on the dude.

  4. loveinthedumps October 8, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    yeah I’m better in a time compression anyway.

    • TisWID October 8, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

      It really made the date so much easier. 🙂

  5. jolene1079 October 10, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    Um, more details please! Who is the boy?! And I LOVE the mini date…just shy of the speed date, but way better 😉 you’re on to something.

    • TisWID October 11, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

      Ahhhh – that may be a post for later this week…..

      • Meg October 12, 2010 at 9:49 am #

        I am with Jo – DETAILS! DETAILS! DETAILS!

  6. Newlyweds on a Budget October 11, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    ahh, the mini-date. love it. my favorite is scheduling two dates in one night, because then you can literally say “oh I promised to meet a friend for dinner, but I can meet you for drinks beforehand?” plus if one date doesn’t work out, you stiull have the second date!

    • TisWID October 11, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

      Nice! This was of course BEFORE the newlyweds part…

  7. Shannon October 12, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    This is a fab idea! I’ve tried this a couple of time. Time limits are great.

  8. Kristen October 12, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    ah, the mini date!! I like that!! Like it a lot! Good concept — you should brand it!

    • TisWID October 12, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

      Brand it, trademark it! I’ll make millions!! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The Mini Date « This is Why I Date -- Topsy.com - October 8, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Melissa Lane, Melissa Lane. Melissa Lane said: {Posted} Have you heard of the mini date? You can thank me later… https://thisiswhyidate.wordpress.com/2010/10/08/the-mini-date/ […]

  2. The Art of Saying No « This is Why I Date - October 13, 2010

    […] of you asked what happened with the guy from the mini date. He was very cute, very sweet, and an overall nice guy.  Someone that if I met two months ago or […]

  3. There Really are Some Cocky SOBs Out There « This is Why I Date - February 11, 2011

    […] But then again, with me, you never know. Afterall, I did get random texts in the last week from mini date and Mr. […]

Leave a Reply

