The Art of Saying No

13 Oct

It’s a tough thing, saying that word “no” to someone. Whether its a family member, friend, or someone you just met, most people have a hard time saying no to another human being.

And that’s what I did recently.

Many of you asked what happened with the guy from the mini date. He was very cute, very sweet, and an overall nice guy.  Someone that if I met two months ago or two months from now, I could have potentially seen more with. But at this stage of my life, I’m in a weird place (and some friends, ahem…ahem – you know who you are, would arguably say I’ve been weird my entire life.) But right now, brining someone into my world isn’t the right thing to do. Not when I can’t commit myself to it fully.

So I had to tastefully say, you are a nice guy and I enjoyed our time together, but right now, I don’t see anything more than being friends. He politely wrote back, said something really sweet, and I thanked him.

That’s all.

I did enjoy our mini date and think one day, he’s going to be great boyfriend for someone. Just not me. So I had to perfect my art of saying “no.” Which I don’t think I’ll ever get used to saying. It’s not fun to say or plan how you’re going to say. But sometimes, it’s a necessity in life.

XO

One Response to “The Art of Saying No”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Art of Saying No – Part 2 « This is Why I Date - October 25, 2010

    […] date with a guy – a very nice person, but someone that I just didn’t completely “click” with.  When he emailed me asking me out for a second date, I thought about it – for a […]

Leave a Reply

