Do You Really Like Football…

18 Oct

Or do you just say that to get guys to reply to you on the Internet?

I shit you not, that is what my date asked me last night.  He said it somewhat jokingly, but now I have to wonder. Is that what men think of women who are into to more “men-oriented” interests? OR do some women actually say things like that to get men to respond?

In my case, I was born and raised a football fan.  I get way excited in August just in anticipation for college ball to begin and even more so when pro starts.  All my friends IRL understand this about me.  And I think many women do enjoy sports and like doing similar activities with the men in their lives. Not just to become closer to them, but because they…well….genuinely enjoy these activities as well.

But can some women ruin for all of us? Is this part of the reason why women have a bad reputation? That they pretend to like things because they think men will like them more? I dunno. 

This statement just struck a cord with me. Not a nerve, but definitely a cord.  Other women out there – what are your thoughts? Do some people say things just to get people to respond to their online ad? Or are people more genuine online? 

So what happened on the date? Ahhh….that’s for another post, another time.

13 Responses to “Do You Really Like Football…”

  1. IntrigueMe October 18, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    I’ve been asked the same question about hockey, and anyone who knows me knows that I LOVE hockey. I’ve actually seen guys profiles say that they hate girls who say they’re a Calgary Flames fan when they’re not (I live in Calgary). Girls say that just because most of the guys here are fans. It’s true, it happens.

    • TisWID October 18, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

      Sux, don’t it? Your hockey is my football. Proud of it too.

  2. jolene1079 October 18, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    Tease! Details, details! I agree, though, (even though I am not a huge sports fan, I do enjoy a game now and again but wouldn’t call myself a “fan”), that some women claim it and it’s not really true, it’s just their “in.” So now, um, details, please? (And btw, have you seen my posts lately, friend?!)

    • TisWID October 18, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

      Yes! I have and I haven’t even had a chance to respond. That’s how crazy life has been. I suck.

      What do you wanna know? 🙂

  3. Meg October 19, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    They are called “pink hats.” And they give female sports fans a bad rap!

    • TisWID October 19, 2010 at 9:22 am #

      They suck!!!

      • Meg October 19, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

        They don’t even know what a safety is or the correct motion a ref calls it with…. 🙂

      • TisWID October 19, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

        Hahahahaha. Safety!! Hands up – in tee pee motion above the head.

  4. singlegirlie October 19, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    Any girl who says they like football just to impress a guy is acting stupid. It’s funny, sometimes I notice guys on online dating sites who say they love to cuddle. I wonder if they’re just saying that to get chicks.

    Hard to trust those sites, isn’t it?

    • TisWID October 19, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

      Its kind of pathetic – for anyone to pretend they like something to get a date. Way too hard to trust those site. I have a whole post in mind discussing WTF are ppl thinking when they post stuff online. Pictures, sayings, etc. Sites can be ridiculous.

  5. Miss Over Thinker October 26, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    I have gone on dates where guys have said they like chick flicks in the hopes that it will make me think of them as sensitive guys.. and then on subsequent dates they would tell me they lied.. so I guess people do lie but I think it’s retarted~

    • TisWID October 26, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

      Or they’re just major douch canoes. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Do You Really Like Football… « This is Why I Date -- Topsy.com - October 19, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by singlegirlie and Melissa Lane, Melissa Lane. Melissa Lane said: Post: Do some women ruin dating AND football for the rest of us? https://thisiswhyidate.wordpress.com/2010/10/18/do-you-really-like-football/ […]

Leave a Reply

