When Do “I” Get to Become a “We”?

4 Nov

OK, so forget the incorrect grammar in the title. Because it will all make a lot of sense soon, like really, really soon.

Here’s where my question stems from. Last night, I was texting with an old H.S. friend of mine who lives in the Big Apple. And we’re trying to figure out a weekend for me to come down for a visit. So when she suggested a weekend, she said “this weekend should work for us.”

US? Us – meaning me and her? NO SILLIES. Us, meaning her and her boyfriend. This is my friend who when she came here to visit over St. Patty’s Day in Spring, she just met this guy. And now they are a “we”, an “us”, a united front ready to face the world and all it’s problems together.

And I realized, she isn’t the only one. Several of my girls have joined forces with men and have become a “we.” And this spans the country from the West to the East Coast. So whenever I talk with them – it’s “We’re going here”, “We’re doing that.” etc. etc. etc. You get the drift.

And I’m not upset by this. Not at all. I think everyone deserves to be happy and I hope everyone finds the person that can complete the “us” or the “we.”

I just want to know when it’s going to be my turn. When do I become a united front with someone? When can I say to people “Sure, that day works for us. We’ll be there”? Like I said, not begruding folks, but it would just be nice to find out when it may change for me.

I’d like to think it’s soon, but you never know. I’d like to say this time next year “Sure, we’d love to come to your holiday party.” Would be nice, no?

XO

6 Responses to “When Do “I” Get to Become a “We”?”

  1. IntrigueMe November 4, 2010 at 5:01 pm #

    Oh, I’m sure “we’ll” all be part of a “we” soon enough!

    Let’s just try not to turn into those couples who bring “we” when only “you” were invited! Argh, I hate that!

    • TisWID November 4, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

      Amen sista, Amen and Hallelujah!

  2. Newlyweds on a Budget November 4, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    I hear Intrigue Me! That’s why I host ladies’ nights that are specifically GIRL time, and just “I” not “WE.”

    • TisWID November 4, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

      If only we lived on the same coasts!

  3. Shannon November 4, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    Here is my problem with all the world and the “us, we” crap. Sometimes I just invite said friend. I do not invite the penis that makes her a “we.” Can’t they detach and grab a solo drink or hell, a solo trip without the attachment? There is my rant. But otherwise I totally get where you are coming from:)

    • TisWID November 5, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

      I do love your rants. Like I said, I’m not begrudging anyone whatsoever and for the most part, people can detach from the penis. But agreed – they need to make time for their chickadees. We need alone time too!

Leave a Reply

