The Day I Found Out…

14 Dec

The Seven Year Man is now engaged.

Yea, well, I knew it was bound to happen and I had a feeling it was coming soon. But it still stings a bit when you read it on Faceboook. Not that I would want him to tell me. And not that I think we were ever meant to be. It was just weird reading it. He changed his status from “In a Relationship” to “Engaged.”

WOW!

Now, I know if things turned out the way I wanted them to 10 years ago, we would have been married.  But we probably also would have been divorced and me, in therapy. So I know in my heart of hearts, it was not meant to be.

Kinda ironic too – it was the same day “Mr. Adonis”, as my friend over at Diffuse 5 refers to him, waltzes back in to my life.  Even if he just wants to hang out on a casual level, it was nice to see his name pop up on my Blackberry on the day I found this out.  So we’ll see if we actually do meet up and if we do start something back up in the near future.

So on that note – I have a tiny plea to make. To the Seven Year Man. Congrats to you and on your engagement, and I wish you all th best. But please, please, please stop popping up on my Facebook. I don’t need your comments on my status and I don’t need notes re: Hanukkah. It was very sweet and I’m happy we got to a place where we don’t loathe one another, but that doesn’t mean I want to know everything about you. Our days together are long over.  And we have both moved on. So let’s just leave the past where it should stay – in the past. Move on to your future and I’ll move on to mine.

11 Responses to “The Day I Found Out…”

  1. Meg December 14, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    Wow. Good for him. Time to limit profile him on FB – or delete him all together. And have a glass a wine. 🙂

  2. LMG December 14, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    I agree with Meg! Delete him all together so you don’t have the constant pop ups.

    • TisWID December 14, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

      You’re both right – I know this.

      • meg December 14, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

        Yeah but defriending is easier said than done! But wine, wine is easy!

      • TisWID December 14, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

        Deleting is an easier route sanity wise, but you’re right, its easier said than done. And oh yes – I had a glass of wine waiting for me at dinner last night. Totally needed. 🙂
        Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  3. Sue December 14, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

    Thx for the shout out friend and I agree wine is a great idea. QQ though – if he’s joking with you on Facebook drawing attn to him and then clearly changed his relationship status do you think he’s looking for some sort of closure/approval?

    • TisWID December 14, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

      In a word – yes. But do I give it to him? Not sure. I don’t want to be petty, but…does he need MY approval?
      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

      • Sue December 14, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

        Dunno was just tossing that out there 😉 maybe a delete is the better route sanity wise…

  4. thisbrokenhearthashope December 14, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    I agree, delete him! It’s so much easier to heal when you are not smacked in the face with his image or words every so often. I hope you are able to quickly move past this.

    • TisWID December 15, 2010 at 11:22 am #

      Thanks! I am over the relationship – have been for several years. THANK GOD! And I think the wine I had earlier this week is helping me move past this little obstacle!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. There Really are Some Cocky SOBs Out There « This is Why I Date - February 11, 2011

    […] Now will I hear from him again? Beyond the few texts we sent to one another post-date? Probably not. But then again, with me, you never know. Afterall, I did get random texts in the last week from mini date and Mr. Adonis.  […]

Leave a Reply

