A Christmas Wish…

23 Dec

So, I stole this from a friend’s update the other day and for some reason I can’t stop thinking about it:

To your enemy, forgiveness.
To an opponent, tolerance.
To a friend, your heart.
To a customer, service.
…To all, charity.
To every child, a good example.
To yourself, respect.
~ Oren Arnold

It’s a beautiful sentiment. It is. But as I look back on 2010 and what I’ve been through, I don’t know if I can act on some of the things listed. I didn’t think it could top how difficult 2009 was, but in many respects, 2010 was more overwhelming and hurtful than I can ever express.  How do you forgive people who turned their backs on you when you needed them the most? Who weren’t honest with you? Who spoke ill of you?

And when these people make you doubt yourself, how do you look at yourself in the mirror and move on?

Well, it was a tough and windy road and while forgiveness is difficult, being able to forget is nearly impossible, moving forward and gaining self respect is imperative.  And no matter how many friends and loved ones I surround myself with, the one lesson I was reminded of this year is that the only person you can really depend on, is yourself.  Difficult lesson to remember, but unfortunately, very true.

However, above all else, I believe I am a strong person and I have this uncanny ability to move on and find a better life.  I am finally at peace with where some things are in my life and I have the hope that 2011 will bring me – and everyone else – greater peace and love than we could ever imagine.

Really – what better Xmas wish can anyone ask for?

One Response to “A Christmas Wish…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why I Have a Crush on Ben Stein « This is Why I Date - December 29, 2010

    […] talked about giving ourselves the greatest holiday present ever – forgiveness. I know in my last post I mentioned how difficult that would be – and I still believe it. Sometimes I can’t […]

Leave a Reply

