I’d Like Someone Else To Do the Driving

21 Jan

I just want a nice guy. I’d like to think it was easy enough to find one. I still believe that I’ll find one – and soon. But as I look around, a new wave of my friends are entering new relationships or getting married. And I am happy for them. But it just stings a little. 

Here’s why:

  • When I look at their Facebook profile picture, it is no longer just them. Its a super cute pic of them with significant other.
  • When I make plans with them, its no longer for drinks and dinner. Its for lunch b/c they have a wedding appointment at night with their fiancee.
  • When I get invited out to birthday parties, I look at the Evite and I’m the only one coming alone.

It’s simply the constant reminder that I don’t have a significant other. Let me be clear – I definitely do not feel like I’m alone and this isn’t a pity party. I just know that as things stay the same with Mr. Adonis (re: nothing is going to change and there is no future with us. At all), I need to move on.

The last few weeks  have been a lot of fun and the future weeks are shaping up to be a good time too. I just wish I wasn’t going to these places, restaurants, parties, and events by myself. I always seem to be driving somewhere either by myself or to pick up others. I just wish I had that someone else to do the driving.

5 Responses to “I’d Like Someone Else To Do the Driving”

  1. MandyMoore January 21, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    I totally agree. I want someone else to do the driving. I also want said someone else to take the trash out to the dumpster. Sigh.

    • TisWID January 21, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

      And while we’re at it – shovel the snow off my car, put gas…

  2. Akirah January 24, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    Ya, I know what you mean. Lately, I’ve been telling myself that there’s nothing about life that guarantees it will meet my expectations. So, even though I’ve always expected to be married, life doesn’t require that. So I’m trying to handle the occasional loneliness, best I can. It’s hard sometimes though. It’d be nice to have someone else to do things with and drive. Maybe one day! 🙂

    • TisWID January 25, 2011 at 7:57 am #

      Def one day – for both of us!! I am confident of that. But I’m kinda the opposite – I knew forever my career would take center stage in my life and never dreamed of getting married. Now, well priorities have changed. And while I’m proud I’m independent enough to drive alone, I’d rather not.

      Xoxo my friend and I’l miss you this year (no BiSC for me…boooooooooo)

      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Just Call Me “Ms. Goodwrench” « This is Why I Date - April 11, 2011

    […] where it gets tricky. While I still want someone else to do the driving, I’m realizing there are some good things to being single.  You can do what you want, when […]

Leave a Reply

