When You Can’t Help But Think…

30 Jan

It’s you. I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong, but I need to stop it. Like ASAP. I try and date different men, hoping for different results.  The problem is, no matter what I do, I attract the same men. Even when they are under disguise. 🙂

What do I mean by that? I mean, I find men who are in the mid-30s at least and they still, no matter what, act like they are in college. Take the latest – Mr. Adonis. Who blew me off today b/c he spent 12 hours drinking with old college friends yesterday. Which is fine, but when I look back, I always seem to find men (remember S and the Seven Year Man?) who would prefer to have drinking buddies than to hang out with me.

Do I smell? Do I perpetually have food in my teeth? Does my taste in music repel most people? (BTW, I like pretty much anything, minus hard core rap or death metal.)

I don’t know the answer to it. I just know that for some reason, no matter how I meet them, I still date the same man. He’s just in a different body, with a different name. And I wish I knew how to find that different man. Is that so hard to ask? Any advice on how to go about it? I’d love to hear it.

On a separate note, I think I finally finished decorating my living room this weekend . It only only 2+ years to do it and I think I still want different lamps, but I think it turned out well.

4 Responses to “When You Can’t Help But Think…”

  1. Mel January 30, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    This is something I have been thinking about recently too. After a shockingly bad date over the weekend, I can’t ignore the mounting evidence that I am being perceived in a much different way than I perceive myself. Part of me feels like the right person would see me the way I intend, but another part feels like I might just be dreaming – the men I meet all seem to respond to me in the same way.

    But how do you know what you should be changing??? And even if you figure that out, how do you actually change your personality???

    • TisWID February 8, 2011 at 11:09 am #

      Nope, you most certainly do NOT change your personality. I think it’s what makes everyone unique. B/c if you try, then you aren’t genuine to your friends and the person who will love you for you. It’s hard not to take it personally, but you can’t change who you are. Not fair to you.

  2. Akirah January 30, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

    I’ve got nothing. I’m still new to the dating game, but I’ve been pretty disappointed in the men I’ve met. They seem one way, but then turn out another. I think it does require patience…and discernment. I’ve learned to not give any more of myself that I do not feel is being given to me. And I do think one day, I will meet someone good. I just haven’t yet.

    But it’s not you. Just be yourself. You’re great. Keep doing you.

    • TisWID February 8, 2011 at 11:04 am #

      Thanks girl! I am doing me. Wait – that sounds wrong! LOL

Leave a Reply

