There Really are Some Cocky SOBs Out There

11 Feb

Y’ know.

So earlier this week, I talked about dating dinks.  And I have to be honest…last night, I went out with someone who I thought was going to be a dink. But wasn’t. He just turned out to be a cocky sonofabitch.  Which is kinda comical. 

It started off like most dates – met at a bar for a beer.  Kinda cool place, very low key and in a town with a bunch of great bars and restaurants. And of course, a town with limited parking and one that no matter how often I go, I ALWAYS GET LOST. But I digress, we met for a beer, started talking and after an hour, he asked me if I wanted to go to dinner to the Irish pub right next door. Not fancy, but a cool place.  So I think to myself “Sure, why the hell not? He’s paying and he’s entertaining me.”

So we go. And we order. And we continue to talk. I won’t bore you with all of the details, but here’s some of the snippets of our conversation:

  • “I totally party, but I know I have my shit together.”
  • “I’ve dated SEVERAL gold diggers in the past.”
  • “My last girlfriend was this Italian/Brazilian girl who was gorgeous.”
  • “Yea, I had a high school sweetheart/girlfriend who I dated for nine years. After we broke up, I ended up going to her wedding.”
  • “I’m definitely a momma’s boy.  Women should appreciate that.”
  • “I used to smoke pot every day; it put me in a Euphoric place.” <editor’s note, to be honest, I can’t remember if he said “euphorphic” or “zen”, but it was definitely along those lines.>
  • “I have enough money that I could travel around the world for two years and be fine.”

Dink? Maybe. Cocky SOB – most definitely!

Now you may be asking yourself “TisWID, why the hell did you stay on this date for 2.5 hours?” Well, I’ll tell ya.  He was definitely entertaining and because for every snide comment he made, I had a zinger back. Which I don’t think he was expecting. I don’t think many women are able to have comebacks.  It’s part of my charm. HA!

And he said for some reason he felt he could open up to me. APPARENTLY! And for the 2+ hours we spent together, I thoroughly had a good time and it was well worth checking out these two restaurants/pubs I plan to visit again.

Now will I hear from him again? Beyond the few texts we sent to one another post-date? Probably not. But then again, with me, you never know. Afterall, I did get random texts in the last week from mini date and Mr. Adonis

Yes, my life is comical. I get it. Enjoy.

4 Responses to “There Really are Some Cocky SOBs Out There”

  1. Just Keep Swimming February 14, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    I never have comebacks for these guys. They just creep me out and I look at them disgusted!

    • TisWID February 14, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

      I spent most of the time kinda laughing at him too. It was interesting. Needless to say I haven’t heard from him since a few texts that night. Oh well. At least he makes for a funny blog post. Just read your last entry, and glad you commented here.

  2. Peter May 1, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    Guys get more arrogant as they get older. Have you ever thought about dating a younger guy or do you prefer to stay in the +30 bracket of bachelors?

    • TisWID May 1, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

      I have – in fact, I did date a younger man once. One completely broke my heart and ripped it to shreds. I guess I shouldn’t base my future dating life on the way a past love treated me, but it’s very hard to let it go and consider moving forward with a younger man. Who knows though? The right man MAY be younger. it would be wrong of me to rule it out.

Leave a Reply

