Just Call Me “Ms. Goodwrench”

11 Apr

So, recently I’ve been called out for not blogging. At all. I know, I suck.  This used to be my oasis, the place I would run to when I needed to vent or have some sort of outlet. And it still is. But life has been…well, basically I can only describe it as “I can’t even keep up with my life.”

Work has been crazy, busy – in a good way. I started doing more work on the side for a group I volunteer with – loving it. And I’m planning for the summer – both trips I’m taking and figuring out schedules for when others are visiting me.

Fun times. But it doesn’t leave a lot for blogging.

And it’s not like I don’t have topics to write about. Daily, I’m involved in conversations or witness situations that are totally blog-worthy, so I’m trying to figure out what to discuss. Especially since my current love life is…well…lacking. But it is, what it is. And to be honest, I’m still comfortable with  where I am in my life.

Here’s where it gets tricky. While I still want someone else to do the driving, I’m realizing there are some good things to being single.  You can do what you want, when you want (well sorta, work dictates a lot during the week); I can hang out with my friends when I want; can call my fam when I want; pick up my cheesy Sweet Valley High Confidential book (yes, judge, its OK); or just chill whenever I want.

So that’s all the good.  BUT here’s where it gets tricky. YOU  HAVE TO DO IT ALL.  I mean, take today for instance. I drove to the next state south of me to go to a friend’s son’s bday party. Tons and tons and tons of kiddos all around me.  A little overwhelming for this single gal who is an only child. And as much fun as I had and even more fun being the only person who went back to the house to watch him open up all of his gifts, I couldn’t get one nagging thought out of my head: I have to fix the lock on my door.  Can I do it? Will I need to consult my fix-it book? Will I need to call a locksmith?

Well, just call me “Ms. Goodwrench.” Because while being single has its ups and downs – one thing is for sure. You have to learn to do things on your own. You  have to learn to fix things on your own. You have to figure it out. And I did. My lock is fixed. Thankyouverymuch. Why? B/c I had to and I had no one else to turn to. So I did. And when I find “Mr. Right” – I can tell him, no, I got it. I can fix the door.  Or whatever else you throw my way.

And really, I think being able to say that is a very good thing!

2 Responses to “Just Call Me “Ms. Goodwrench””

  1. suki @ [Super Duper Fantastic] April 21, 2011 at 1:00 am #

    I’ll probably still have someone else do the fixing. 😛 It’s good to have friends who are willing, but if all else fails, I guess I can turn to YouTube.

    • TisWID April 21, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

      Hahaha! YouTube and its many benefits!!

      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Leave a Reply

