Life – Reason, Season, or Lifetime?

31 May

One of my new favorite poems:

People come into your life for a reason, a season, or a lifetime. When you figure out which one it is, you will know what to do for each person.

When someone is in your life for a REASON . . . It is usually to meet a need you have expressed. They have come to assist you through a difficulty, to provide you with guidance and support, to aid you physically, emotionally, or spiritually. They may seem like a godsend, and they are! They are there for the reason you need them to be.

Then, without any wrong doing on your part, or at an inconvenient time, this person will say or do something to bring the relationship to an end.

Sometimes they die.
Sometimes they walk away.
Sometimes they act up and force you to take a stand.

What we must realise is that our need has been met, our desire fulfilled, their work is done. The prayer you sent up has been answered. And now it is time to move on.

When people come into your life for a SEASON . . .
Because your turn has come to share, grow, or learn.
They bring you an experience of peace, or make you laugh.
They may teach you something you have never done.
They usually give you an unbelievable amount
of joy. Believe it! It is real! But, only for a season.

LIFETIME relationships teach you lifetime lessons; things you must build upon in order to have a solid emotional foundation. Your job is to accept the lesson, love the person, and put what you have learned to use in all other relationships and areas of your life. It is said that love is blind but friendship is clairvoyant.
– Author unknown

Why is it my favorite poem? Because it pretty much sums up life and friendships in a nice, neat, little bow.  I haven’t been updating this recently and I know it. But it’s because I’m figuring out who are my reason, season, and life friends.  It’s been tough because I am fiercely loyal to those I’m close to. And when sometimes people don’t live up to my expectations or they become pre-occupied with their lives, I just have to realize that sometimes friendships and relationships are supposed to come and go as you need them.

I’m very lucky though.

Because I’m finding my way of who I am in my 30s.  Because I’m realizing that some of my friends from my teens and twenties were phenomenal at the time, but maybe we have just grown apart. Because I’m still figuring out what I want and what makes me happy. And as part of this journey – my eyes are now opened to phenomenal people. People who accept me for me and accept that maybe now I’m a bit guarded than what I once was and that maybe I’m a bit more introverted, but who don’t question it.

If I’ve lost touch with you or we have stopped being friends for something, trust me, you have been in my thoughts non-stop. Even if I haven’t been in your’s.  But maybe our friendship was there for a reason or we were only meant to be in each other’s lives for a finite amount of time.   Whatever the reason, I am in a better place because I knew you. All of you.  No matter how or if our friendship ended.

XOXO

2 Responses to “Life – Reason, Season, or Lifetime?”

  1. Sue June 14, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    Love this!

    • TisWID June 14, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

      Had a feeling you would. 🙂

      Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Leave a Reply

