I Need Him to Walk Me to My Car

28 Aug

In the past month, I’ve had several first dates. Shocker, I know.  Here is the very quick low-down on them all.

– Lunch date with the Brit.  Had fun, low key, very interesting. Didn’t walk me to my car afterward. Never heard from him again.

– Date with loud Jew.  Louder than me.  Good convo, bad table manners. But walked me to my car.  And then called, texted, and asked me out. I politely let him down.

– Appetizers and drinks with the hunky entrepreneur. Had a blast. Until his friends showed up. Yup. You read it right. Grant it, they showed up after we had been on the date for nearly four hours. I wish the date ended before they came, b/c it was going so well. And then he became one of the boys. And didn’t walk me to my car. BUT then I did hear from him a day later and then he went dark.

But the point is, HE DIDN’T WALK ME TO MY CAR. And I’ve realized, that is now my deal breaker. Now, before you judge, hear me out.  And my guy friends have backed me up. I am an independent person. Always have been. But I think chivalry should not die in this century and men should always walk women to their cars – especially when it’s dark out.

That was the thing that was the deal breaker with my guy friends.  He should have walked me to my car. Any gentleman would.  And men who really dig women will go above and beyond that as well. And I deserve it. And I want it.  So not walking me to my car, is one of my deal breakers.  What’s yours?

3 Responses to “I Need Him to Walk Me to My Car”

  1. Amnon August 29, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    If it is so important for you to have him walk you to the car, have you considered asking this from your date? The date may like that!
    I know that I wouldn’t consider this act as a given, and would not guess this would be a deal breaker.

  2. Jo(sephine) September 8, 2011 at 4:32 am #

    Walking a girl to her car is really not too much to ask. It’s little gentleman-ly things like that that are dealbreakers for me as well.

  3. risaac69@hotmail.com November 28, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    I absolutely agree…if a man walks you to your car then it shows that they care about your welfare and probably are not selfish. If they don’t its because they cannot see it being any benefit to them so won’t do it! I know which guy I would rather be with. It is the little things that sometimes tell us the very most about a person!

    So for me if a guy doesn’t walk me to my car then it is an absolute dealbreaker !!!!

Leave a Reply

